Databases: All Public Services: Subject Resources

Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources, including Nature, The Economist, and The New York Times, in PDF and HTML full-text formats. Also includes access to podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN and videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.

General database covering all major academic subjects and offering full text access for over 11,000 publications, with indexing and abstracts for more than 16,000. To learn more about using Academic Search Ultimate, visit the tutorials on the EBSCOhost support page.

Wide-ranging collection of over 70,000 streaming videos covering a wide range of subject areas. Types of videos include documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, newsreels, and more. Available films include Oscar, Emmy, and Peabody-winning titles.

Covers key subjects in two-year college settings, including cosmetology, culinary arts, substance abuse counseling, and electrical technology, to name a few. The database includes over 2,000 full-text journals and over 300 full-text ebooks.

Current and historical bills from the NC General Assembly. Search by attribute, bill number, chamber, committee, and more. (Internet Resource)

The official website for U.S. federal legislative information, which provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information.

Find pro/con essays and background information about current events.

Credo Reference offers online access to 1,250 reference books covering all major academic disciplines. (If you see an error when trying to access Credo Reference, refresh the page or use a different browser.)

North Carolina crime statistics are reports submitted to the NC State Bureau of Investigation (NCSBI) from participating law enforcement agencies across the state. The NCSBI provides the collection of data to the Federal Bureau of Investigation’s (FBI) National Incident Based Reporting System (NIBRS), as part of the FBI’s Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program.

Information from more than 250 journals useful for those studying law, law enforcement, or terrorism, training for paralegal service, preparing for a career in homeland security, delving into forensic science, investigating crime scenes, developing policy, going to court, writing sociological reports, and more. (Formerly InfoTrac Criminal Justice Collection)

A smorgasbord of information—including recipes and articles—from more than 250 major cooking and nutrition magazines, as well as online reference books. (Formerly InfoTrac Culinary Arts Collection)

Scholarly ebook titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills.

Over 26,000 fiction, reference, scholarly, and professional books online. For tutorials and other help on using EBSCO ebooks on different computers and devices, visit the eBooks on EBSCOhost support page.

Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.

Searchable collection of online reference titles.

Offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues. The database ties together a variety of sources to present a rich analysis of issues – social, political, military, economic, environmental, science related, health related, cultural – and headlines in world hot spots. Browse by topic to find videos.

Find information and links about your legal rights, the law, the courts, legal forms and more. (Internet Resource)

Provides indexing for more than 1,200 major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals, and international legal journals, including over 200 titles in full text.

A database devoted to current controversial topics. Find news and scholarly articles, statistical data, relevant viewpoints, primary sources, and a variety of other sources useful to anyone researching current issues. (Formerly Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context)

The Oyez Project is a multimedia archive devoted to the Supreme Court of the United States and its work. It aims to be a complete and authoritative source for all audio recorded in the Court since the installation of a recording system in October 1955. The Project also provides authoritative information on all justices and offers a virtual reality Tour of portions of the Supreme Court building, including the chambers of some of the justices. (Internet Resource)

A suite of test preparation materials covering core academic skills, career preparation, graduate school admissions, and placement testing. Registration is required so that users can track their progress.

Vocational information on technical topics, such as computing science, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design, and photography.

Research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.

Information for entrepreneurs and researchers that includes business start-up plans, video clips, journals, business cases, and more.

General reference database from business and political science to literature and psychology scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and daily news content, accessible to readers and researchers at every level.

Access journals and magazines that aid users in researching a vocation, finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career. The database offers hundreds of current and applicable periodicals, from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals. (Formerly InfoTrac Vocations/Careers & Technical Education Collection)