Skip to Main Content
eBooks & Audiobooks
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference offers online access to 1,250 reference books covering all major academic disciplines. (If you see an error when trying to access Credo Reference, refresh the page or use a different browser.)
Dogwood Digital Library (Overdrive) This link opens in a new window
Free online library that lets you borrow ebooks, audiobooks, and magazines anytime, anywhere. Read and listen to books and magazines using the Libby app. Some titles are available to read on Kindle.
Ebook Central Academic and Public Library Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly ebook titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills.
eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Over 26,000 fiction, reference, scholarly, and professional books online. For tutorials and other help on using EBSCO ebooks on different computers and devices, visit the eBooks on EBSCOhost support page
Gale Virtual Reference Library (Gale Ebooks) This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of online reference titles.
Home Grown eBooks Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of more than 1,000 eBooks from a variety of North Carolina publishers. Includes popular and scholarly nonfiction, novels by well-known NC authors, and award-winning short fiction and poetry.
Hoopla This link opens in a new window
(Formerly available as RBdigital) Downloadable audio and ebooks on a variety of topics, including language learning, history, biography, classic literature, and more. App is available for download. When registering for a Hoopla account, please use your VGCC email address. For more information about using Hoopla please contact email@example.com or use the library chat box.
Infobase eBooks This link opens in a new window
A small collection of 20 ebooks covering careers, government, and criminal justice.
O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
O’Reilly for Higher Education includes more than 38,000 book titles and more than 30,000 hours of video on topics ranging from programming to IT networking to project management to graphic design to business strategy. Available content includes code snippets, certification preparation materials, practice exercises, training videos, and much more.
Open Library This link opens in a new window
A downloadable eBook collection with books contributed from libraries across the country. Create a username and password to borrow up to five books at a time.
Oxford English Dictionary Online This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive etymology and history of the English language.
Oxford Reference Premium This link opens in a new window
Reference titles in core subject areas, including quick reference articles, illustrations, photographs, line diagrams, maps, and tables.
RBdigital (Now Hoopla) This link opens in a new window
The same audiobooks and ebooks once available on RBdigital are now available on a new platform, Hoopla! Existing links to RBdigital will now automatically redirect to Hoopla.
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
Full-text academic ebooks on multiple subject areas. View in a web browser or download the PDF.
Important! Make sure the "Show content I have access to" box is checked when searching. This ensures you are searching only full-text titles.
Browse Databases and Periodicals by Name
Browse Databases by Format
Popular & Professional Development Periodicals
Need help? Contact the VGCC Library.