Databases G-H: List

See and search all of the 48 Gale databases VGCC subscribes to. Most are cross-searchable, although seven must be searched separately: Chilton Library, Biography & Genealogy Master Index, Health & Wellness Resource Center, LitFinder, GREENR, Business Insights: Global, and World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean.

Offers broad yet detailed coverage of international business with access to timely case studies, full-text articles, and robust data sets coupled with authoritative references and tools for analysis.

Searchable collection of online reference titles.

Serves horticultural enthusiasts of all levels with more than 3.6 million articles from more than 100 journals, as well as more than 20 reference titles. (Formerly InfoTrac Gardening/Landscape & Horticulture Collection)

Offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering gender studies, family and marital issues, and more. (Formerly Gale Gender Studies Collection)

A large general-interest database with more than 8,000 periodical titles (most in full text and current). Includes magazines, newspapers, and journals, as well as reference and audio content.

Global Breaking Newswires provides timely access to newswire content from around the globe as well as growing archive of news.

Offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues. The database ties together a variety of sources to present a rich analysis of issues – social, political, military, economic, environmental, science related, health related, cultural – and headlines in world hot spots. Browse by topic to find videos.

For students, researchers, and health care professionals, provides up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics with more than 2,500 full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries. (Formerly Gale Health Reference Center Academic)

A comprehensive consumer health resource, provides accurate, authoritative information on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative and complementary medical practices. (Formerly Gale Health & Wellness Resource Center)

Consumer health database with access to health information from a wide variety of consumer health magazines and reference books.

Full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.

Treasury of American genealogical sources: unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. Includes historical census, PERSI, Revolutionary War records, and more.

The experience and impact of Hispanic Americans as recorded by the news media, 1704 to today.

3.5 million pages of digitized content from over 1,000 NC county newspapers.

A collection of primary and secondary sources on global history from ancient times to the present day.

A collection of more than 1,000 eBooks from a variety of North Carolina publishers. Includes popular and scholarly nonfiction, novels by well-known NC authors, and award-winning short fiction and poetry.

(Formerly available as RBdigital) Downloadable audio and ebooks on a variety of topics, including language learning, history, biography, classic literature, and more. App is available for download. When registering for a Hoopla account, please use your VGCC email address. For more information about using Hoopla please contact library@vgcc.edu or use the library chat box.

Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications that cover topics including the cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism. The curious traveler will also find information on planning vacations and full-text travel guides from Fodor's. (Formerly InfoTrac Tourism/Hospitality & Leisure Collection)