Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Basic Law Enforcement Training at VGCC
Basic Law Enforcement Training
Basic Law Enforcement Training (BLET) is designed to give students essential skills required for entry-level employment as law enforcement officers with state, county, or municipal governments, or with private enterprise.
This program utilizes State commission-mandated topics and methods of instruction. General subject include, but are not limited to, criminal, juvenile, civil, traffic, and alcoholic beverage laws; investigative, patrol, custody, and court procedures; emergency responses; and ethics and community relations.
BLET : Print Materials
Take Note: The print materials listed here are not an exhaustive list of the library resources related to Basic Law Enforcement Training. If looking for other materials, please consult the library catalog or meet with one of VGCC's librarians.
American Police - A History, 1945-2012 by
Call Number: HV 8138 .R462 2012
Publication Date: 2012-10-23
Discusses the changes in law enforcement within these years. Available at Main Campus.
Analyzing Criminal Minds by
Call Number: HV 6080 .J33 2011
Publication Date: 2011-05-01
Explores tools and products that have revolutionized the discipline, explaining how modern criminal mind analysis incorporates advances in criminal and forensic psychology, brain imaging, criminal profiling, and more. Available at Main Campus.
Barron's Police Officer Exam, 9th Edition by
Call Number: HV 8143 .S34 2013
Publication Date: 2013-04-01
Information, practice tests, and strategies for the different question types used by police departments throughout the country. Available at Main and South Campuses.
Black and Blue by
Call Number: HV 8141 .P34 2017
Publication Date: 2017-05-09
Presents an objective overview of challenges facing law enforcement with facts, statistics, and perspectives from both sides of the community-police divide. Includes interviews with top law enforcement officials, police officers on the ground, union leaders, and community activists Available at Main Campus
Careers in Criminal Justice by
Call Number: HV 8143 .J642 2015
Publication Date: 2014-01-28
Prepares students to plan, pursue, and realize their career goals—from conception through the hiring process, with coverage of over forty careers in policing, courts, corrections, and victims services.Available at Main Campus.
Careers in Law Enforcement by
Publication Date: 2016-03-10
For anyone considering a career in the criminal justice field, the author defines the variety of career paths, so that readers can develop sensible goals at the beginning of their degree program Available at Main Campus.
Crime Victims: an Introduction to Victimology by
Call Number: HV 6250.3 .U5 K37 2016
Publication Date: 2015-04-28
Covers the seriousness of intimate partner violence, child abuse, sexual assaults in the U.S. military, acquaintance rapes on college campuses, shootings on campuses, whether arming for self-protection is an effective strategy, and similar high-profile issues.Available at Main Campus.
Criminology: explaining crime and its context by
Call Number: HV 6025 .B76 2015
Publication Date: 2015-07-10
"Provides students of criminology and sociology with a thorough exposure to a range of theories, contrasting their logic and assumptions, but also highlighting efforts to integrate and blend these frameworks. In this ninth edition, the authors have incorporated new directions that have gained traction in the field, while remaining faithful to their criminological heritage." Available at Main Campus.
Cybercrime and Digital Forensics by
Call Number: HV 6773 .H648 2015
Publication Date: 2015-02-17
An introduction to cybercrime that covers the various types of cybercrime, the investigation and detection of cybercrime and the role of digital information, and the wider role of technology as a facilitator for social relationships between deviants and criminals. Available at Main Campus
Ethical Dilemmas and Decisions in Criminal Justice by
Call Number: HV 7419 .P65 2017
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Offers comprehensive, balanced, and practical coverage of ethics across the police, the courts, and corrections. Available at Main Campus.
The Officer's Guide to Police Pistolcraft by
Call Number: HV 7923 .C585 2009
Publication Date: 2009-11-29
Provides information relating to the pistol and its use by the modern-day police, security, or military professional." Available at Main Campus.
Practical Homicide Investigation by
Call Number: HV 8079 .H6 G4 2015
Publication Date: 2015-05-12
Details the recognized protocols of major police departments throughout the world. Begins with a comprehensive look at crime scenes and moves chronologically through the correct police response that follows, and the subsequent steps necessary to conduct an intelligent investigation.Available at Main Campus in Reference.
Criminal Justice Databases
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources, including Nature, The Economist, and The New York Times, in PDF and HTML full-text formats. Also includes access to podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN and videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
General database covering all major academic subjects and offering full text access for over 11,000 publications, with indexing and abstracts for more than 16,000. To learn more about using Academic Search Ultimate, visit the tutorials on the EBSCOhost support page
Academic Video Online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Wide-ranging collection of over 70,000 streaming videos covering a wide range of subject areas. Types of videos include documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, newsreels, and more. Available films include Oscar, Emmy, and Peabody-winning titles.
Associates Programs Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers key subjects in two-year college settings, including cosmetology, culinary arts, substance abuse counseling, and electrical technology, to name a few. The database includes over 2,000 full-text journals and over 300 full-text e-books.
CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
Reports on issues shaping our world, with in-depth coverage of political and social issues, such as health, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference offers online access to 1,250 reference books covering all major academic disciplines. (If you see an error when trying to access Credo Reference, refresh the page or use a different browser.)
Crime in North Carolina (Uniform Crime Report) This link opens in a new window
The Uniform Crime Reporting Program collects data on the age, race, and sex of persons arrested for all crimes except traffic violations. (Internet Resource)
Criminal Justice (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Information from more than 250 journals useful for those studying law, law enforcement, or terrorism, training for paralegal service, preparing for a career in homeland security, delving into forensic science, investigating crime scenes, developing policy, going to court, writing sociological reports, and more. (Formerly InfoTrac Criminal Justice Collection)
Ebook Central Academic and Public Library Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly ebook titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills.
eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Over 26,000 fiction, reference, scholarly, and professional books online. For tutorials and other help on using EBSCO ebooks on different computers and devices, visit the eBooks on EBSCOhost support page
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (Gale Ebooks) This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of online reference titles.
Global Issues (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues. The database ties together a variety of sources to present a rich analysis of issues – social, political, military, economic, environmental, science related, health related, cultural – and headlines in world hot spots. Browse by topic to find videos.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
A database devoted to current controversial topics. Find news and scholarly articles, statistical data, relevant viewpoints, primary sources, and a variety of other sources useful to anyone researching current issues. (Formerly Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context)
PrepSTEP This link opens in a new window
A suite of test preparation materials covering core academic skills, career preparation, graduate school admissions, and placement testing. Registration is required so that users can track their progress.
ProQuest Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
Research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
An authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
American Criminal Law Review (1994-present)
A quarterly journal covering developments and issues in United States constitutional and criminal law.
American Journal of Criminal Justice (1999-present)
A peer reviewed journal offering research on a wide array of criminal justice topics and issues.
Contemporary Justice Review (1999-18 months ago)
Provides information for scholars, practitioners & activists of justice around the globe who seek to explore new models & demonstration projects of justice that have applicability to social systems from the local to the international level.
Corrections Today (1994-present)
Articles on all areas of corrections, news and legislation, commentary, profiles, book reviews and research perspectives published for members of the American Correctional Association.
Criminal Behaviour & Mental Health (2000-1 year ago)
Contains research papers on the causes of crime and delinquency, the treatment of mentally abnormal offenders, the police, the probation service, the courts, the legal process, and the social services.
Criminal Justice (2008-present)
An academic and professional journal focusing on practice and policy issues of the criminal justice system, published by the American Bar Association.
Criminal Justice Ethics (1990-18 months ago)
Articles focusing on ethical issues in criminal justice by philosophers, criminal justice professionals, lawyers and judges and the general public on topics relating to the police, courts, corrections and issues in legal philosophy.
FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin (1993-present)
Feature articles dealing with law enforcement, up-to-date practices and techniques, research, notable speeches, bulletin alert, police practices and profiles of officers.
Journal of Criminal Law and Criminology (1993-present)
A journal focusing on law enforcement and criminology for the academic audience.
Law Enforcement Technology (2004-present)
A monthly trade magazine for senior law enforcement officers that covers police technology, operations, and management information. Includes news of emerging trends and technological advances, and information about companies that provide products.
For Basic Law Enforcement Training (BLET) Program Information
Director, BLET, LET, & Corrections
Need help? Contact the VGCC Library.