Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Videos for Criminal Justice Technology
Criminal Justice Databases
Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources, including Nature, The Economist, and The New York Times, in PDF and HTML full-text formats. Also includes access to podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN and videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
General database covering all major academic subjects and offering full text access for over 11,000 publications, with indexing and abstracts for more than 16,000. To learn more about using Academic Search Ultimate, visit the tutorials on the EBSCOhost support page
Academic Video Online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Wide-ranging collection of over 70,000 streaming videos covering a wide range of subject areas. Types of videos include documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, newsreels, and more. Available films include Oscar, Emmy, and Peabody-winning titles.
Associates Programs Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers key subjects in two-year college settings, including cosmetology, culinary arts, substance abuse counseling, and electrical technology, to name a few. The database includes over 2,000 full-text journals and over 300 full-text ebooks.
CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
Reports on issues shaping our world, with in-depth coverage of political and social issues, such as health, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference offers online access to 1,250 reference books covering all major academic disciplines. (If you see an error when trying to access Credo Reference, refresh the page or use a different browser.)
Crime in North Carolina (Uniform Crime Report) This link opens in a new window
The Uniform Crime Reporting Program collects data on the age, race, and sex of persons arrested for all crimes except traffic violations. (Internet Resource)
Criminal Justice (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Information from more than 250 journals useful for those studying law, law enforcement, or terrorism, training for paralegal service, preparing for a career in homeland security, delving into forensic science, investigating crime scenes, developing policy, going to court, writing sociological reports, and more. (Formerly InfoTrac Criminal Justice Collection)
Ebook Central Academic and Public Library Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly ebook titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills.
eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Over 26,000 fiction, reference, scholarly, and professional books online. For tutorials and other help on using EBSCO ebooks on different computers and devices, visit the eBooks on EBSCOhost support page
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (Gale Ebooks) This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of online reference titles.
Global Issues (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues. The database ties together a variety of sources to present a rich analysis of issues – social, political, military, economic, environmental, science related, health related, cultural – and headlines in world hot spots. Browse by topic to find videos.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
A database devoted to current controversial topics. Find news and scholarly articles, statistical data, relevant viewpoints, primary sources, and a variety of other sources useful to anyone researching current issues. (Formerly Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context)
PrepSTEP This link opens in a new window
A suite of test preparation materials covering core academic skills, career preparation, graduate school admissions, and placement testing. Registration is required so that users can track their progress.
ProQuest Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
Research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
An authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Criminal Justice Technology - New Print Materials
Take Note: The print materials listed here are not an exhaustive list of the library resources related to Criminal Justice. If looking for other materials, please consult the library catalog or meet with one of VGCC's librarians.
Careers in Criminal Justice by
Call Number: HV 8143 .J642 2015
Publication Date: 2014-01-28
Prepares students to plan, pursue, and realize their career goals—from conception through the hiring process, with coverage of over forty careers in policing, courts, corrections, and victims services.Available at Main Campus.
Enemies: A History of the FBI by
Call Number: HV 8144 .F43 W45 2013
Publication Date: 2013-02-26
The first definitive history of the FBI's secret intelligence operations
Ethical Dilemmas and Decisions in Criminal Justice by
Call Number: HV 7419 .P65 2017
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Offers comprehensive coverage of ethics across all three arms of the criminal justice system: the police, the courts, and corrections.
Gender Power and Violence by
Call Number: HV 6626 .H3249 2019
Publication Date: 2019-02-06
Looks at the problem of sexual and intimate partner violence through cases, observing the role that institutions play in facilitating and perpetuating gender-based violence.
Locked In by
Call Number: HV 9471 .P449 2017
Publication Date: 2017-02-07
Argues that existing accounts of the causes of mass incarceration are fundamentally misguided.
The New Criminal Justice Thinking by
Call Number: HV 9950 .N495 2017
Publication Date: 2017-03-28
Scholars from across the disciplines of legal theory, sociology, criminology, critical race theory, and organizational theory offer crucial insights into how the criminal system works in both theory and practice.
Police Use of Force by
Call Number: HV 8141 .P59353 2017
Publication Date: 2016-08-12
Presents important issues facing the police and the communities they serve in encounters that turn violent. It starts with a thorough historical introduction, covers use of force, deadly force, non-lethal weapons, militarization of policing, racism and profiling, legal cases, psychology, perception and training, and prevention.
Prisons in the United States by
Call Number: HV 9466 .B349 2017
Publication Date: 2017-03-27
Offering perspectives from a range of experts, both academic and nonacademic, this reference book examines the development of prisons in the United States and addresses the principal contemporary issues and controversies of our prisons and prison systems.
Criminal Justice Technology at VGCC
Criminal Justice Technology - Program Overview
"The Criminal Justice Technology curriculum is designed to provide knowledge of criminal justice systems and operations. Study will focus on local, state, and federal law enforcement, judicial processes, corrections and security services. The criminal justice system's role within society will be explored."
For Criminal Justice Technology Program Information
Program Head, Criminal Justice
American Criminal Law Review (1994-present)
A quarterly journal covering developments and issues in United States constitutional and criminal law.
American Journal of Criminal Justice (1999-present)
A peer reviewed journal offering research on a wide array of criminal justice topics and issues.
Contemporary Justice Review (1999-18 months ago)
Provides information for scholars, practitioners & activists of justice around the globe who seek to explore new models & demonstration projects of justice that have applicability to social systems from the local to the international level.
Corrections Today (1994-present)
Articles on all areas of corrections, news and legislation, commentary, profiles, book reviews and research perspectives published for members of the American Correctional Association.
Criminal Behaviour & Mental Health (2000-1 year ago)
Contains research papers on the causes of crime and delinquency, the treatment of mentally abnormal offenders, the police, the probation service, the courts, the legal process, and the social services.
Criminal Justice (2008-present)
An academic and professional journal focusing on practice and policy issues of the criminal justice system, published by the American Bar Association.
Criminal Justice Ethics (1990-18 months ago)
Articles focusing on ethical issues in criminal justice by philosophers, criminal justice professionals, lawyers and judges and the general public on topics relating to the police, courts, corrections and issues in legal philosophy.
FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin (1993-present)
Feature articles dealing with law enforcement, up-to-date practices and techniques, research, notable speeches, bulletin alert, police practices and profiles of officers.
Journal of Criminal Law and Criminology (1993-present)
A journal focusing on law enforcement and criminology for the academic audience.
Law Enforcement Technology (2004-present)
A monthly trade magazine for senior law enforcement officers that covers police technology, operations, and management information. Includes news of emerging trends and technological advances, and information about companies that provide products.
Need help? Contact the VGCC Library.