Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Consumer Health Databases
Academic Video Online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Wide-ranging collection of over 70,000 streaming videos covering a wide range of subject areas. Types of videos include documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, newsreels, and more. Available films include Oscar, Emmy, and Peabody-winning titles.
Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC) This link opens in a new window
Resources about diseases, conditions and other special topics, with health immunizations and recommendations for travelers worldwide. (Internet Resource)
Centros para el Control y Prevención de Enfermedades This link opens in a new window
Información y recursos para mantener la salud y prevenir enfermedades. (CDC Spanish-Language website.)
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.
Health and Wellness (Gale) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive consumer health resource, provides accurate, authoritative information on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative and complementary medical practices. (Formerly Gale Health & Wellness Resource Center)
Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Consumer health database with access to health information from a wide variety of consumer health magazines and reference books.
MayoClinic.com This link opens in a new window
Health education to patients and the general public on topics such as autism, influenza, bipolar disorder, breast cancer, smoking, depression, and more. (Internet Resource)
MedLine Plus This link opens in a new window
Common diseases and conditions, health promotion and wellness, drugs info, medical dictionaries and more. (Internet Resource)
MedLine Plus Drugs & Supplements This link opens in a new window
Guide to prescription and over-the-counter medications, herbs, and supplements. (Internet Resource)
Merck Manual Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Explains disorders, their symptoms, how they're diagnosed, and how they can be prevented or treated. (Internet Resource)
National Institute of Mental Health This link opens in a new window
Symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment of various mental illnesses. Includes brochures, information sheets, reports, press releases, and fact sheets. (Internet Resource)
NC Health Info This link opens in a new window
Online guide to quality health and medical information and local health services throughout North Carolina. (Internet Resource)
ProQuest Family Health Database This link opens in a new window
Magazines and journals covering consumer health topics, such as sports injuries, women's health, food and nutrition, midwifery, eye care and dentistry.
Women's Health This link opens in a new window
Resource on women’s health topics: pregnancy, body image, HIV/AIDS, girls health, heart health, menopause, mental health, quitting smoking, and domestic violence. (Internet Resource)
Browse Databases and Periodicals by Name
Browse Databases by Format
Popular & Professional Development Periodicals
Need help? Contact the VGCC Library.