Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Art & Music Databases
Academic Video Online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Wide-ranging collection of over 70,000 streaming videos covering a wide range of subject areas. Types of videos include documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, newsreels, and more. Available films include Oscar, Emmy, and Peabody-winning titles.
Art & Architecture Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text coverage for hundreds of periodicals dating back to 1937 and additional full-text for hundreds of books.
Associates Programs Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers key subjects in two-year college settings, including cosmetology, culinary arts, substance abuse counseling, and electrical technology, to name a few. The database includes over 2,000 full-text journals and over 300 full-text e-books.
Ebook Central Academic and Public Library Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly ebook titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills.
eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Over 26,000 fiction, reference, scholarly, and professional books online. For tutorials and other help on using EBSCO ebooks on different computers and devices, visit the eBooks on EBSCOhost support page
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.
Fine Arts (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Places over 10 million articles at the fingertips of students of drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. More than 250 journals are available in full text. (Formerly InfoTrac Fine Arts & Music Collection)
Gale Virtual Reference Library (Gale Ebooks) This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of online reference titles.
NC LIVE Video Collection (via Films on Demand) This link opens in a new window
A wide-ranging collection of online videos, including PBS documentaries, NC history videos, and films from the state Archives. Now hosted in Films on Demand.
Oxford Reference Premium This link opens in a new window
Reference titles in core subject areas, including quick reference articles, illustrations, photographs, line diagrams, maps, and tables.
Pop Culture Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Access scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. The database offers useful information for researchers in social science, history, art or liberal arts courses.(Formerly InfoTrac Pop Culture Collection)
ProQuest Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
American Art (1997-1 year ago)
Interdisciplinary articles encompassing all aspects of America's visual heritage, including the traditional fine arts, decorative arts and crafts, architecture and landscape design, photography, film and video, and commercial and graphic design.
American Music (1992-present)
A scholarly journal covering music in the U.S. for the academic audience.
Art Bulletin (1975-present)
Publishes leading scholarship in the English language in all aspects of art history as practiced in the academy, museums, and other institutions.
Art History (1981-12 months ago)
Original articles relating to all aspects of the historical and theoretical study of painting, sculpture, design and other areas of visual imagery.
Art in America (2002-present)
Features articles on major achievements & events throughout the art world, particularly in painting, sculpture, photography and prints.
Art Journal (1974-present)
Journal arranged thematically under a guest editor including articles by and about artists, exhibition reviews, book reviews and lists of books and catalogues received.
Current Musicology (1995-present)
Publishes articles and book reviews in the fields of historical musicology, ethnomusicology, music theory, and philosophy of music.
Journal of Aesthetics & Art Criticism (1974-12 months ago)
Articles on all studies of the arts and related types of experience from a philosophic, scientific, or other theoretical standpoint, including those of psychology, sociology, anthropology, cultural history, art criticism and education.
Music Trades (2006-present)
Publishes a blend of industry news, hard sales and marketing data, trend analysis, and management tips in every issue.
Nka: Journal of Contemporary African Art (2002-1 year ago)
Focus is on contemporary African and African diaspora art.
Popular Music (2001-1 year ago)
An international multi-disciplinary journal covering all aspects of popular music.
Rolling Stone (Aug 1990-present)
Rock & Roll, national affairs, feature stories, reviews, classified ads, and the music charts.
Southern Cultures (Spring 1997-1 year ago)
Explores history, politics, folklore, literature, art and social structures of the South.
X-tra: Contemporary Art Quarterly (2009-present)
Publishes diverse critical approaches including expansive features, historical essays, commissioned artist's projects, interviews, and substantive exhibition and book reviews.
Browse Databases and Periodicals by Name
Browse Databases by Format
Popular & Professional Development Periodicals
Need help? Contact the VGCC Library.