Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Salem Press eBooks This link opens in a new window
A small collection of reference ebooks covering history, science, health, and literature.
Sanborn Maps North Carolina This link opens in a new window
Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970, provides access to large-scale maps of North Carolina towns and cities.
SIRS Discoverer This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for elementary and middle school students, SIRS Discoverer offer articles, nonfiction books, images, activities and websites curated for educational relevance, age appropriateness, and readability.
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
Research the pros and cons of current issues and enduring social issues through full-text articles, multimedia, primary sources, government documents and reference materials.
Snapshot Series (market reports set) This link opens in a new window
Over 8,000 international market research overviews focusing on 40+ industries in more than 40 countries worldwide, including regional summaries. It provides market size, share, forecasts and segments.
Now part of ProQuest Business Market Research Collection.
Social Work Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Information resource for social workers and mental health professionals. Covers a wide array of topics such as social problems, adolescent health, aging, end-of-life care, clinical social work, and diversity.
STAT!Ref This link opens in a new window
Enables users to cross-search full-text titles, journals and evidence-based point-of-care authoritative resources.
State Center for Health Statistics This link opens in a new window
Health-related research and reports and a collection of health statistics. (Internet Resource)
State Data Center This link opens in a new window
The site includes population, economic, and income data as well as county profiles and rankings. (Internet Resource)
State Demographics This link opens in a new window
Provides state, county, and municipal population estimates and projections by year, age, race, and sex. (Internet Resource)
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
An authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Science & Technology of Welding & Joining (2003-1 year ago)
Concerned with both the basic science and applied technology of welding and joining.
Contains peer-reviewed articles, original research reports, a news section, editorials, letters, and book reviews on timely science-related topics.
Science News (1975-present)
Bi-weekly news magazine of science published in the United States.
Scientific American (2005-present)
Authoritative articles on all sciences by scientists who do the research reported. Edited for the interested layman. Features science and the citizen, computer reactions, the amateur scientists, reviews of current books in science and bibliographies.
Fitness, health, and beauty magazine for women.
A teen magazine covering different aspects of teenage life.
Sex Roles (1995-1 year ago)
Multidisciplinary journal with a feminist perspective that explores how gender organizes people’s lives and their surrounding worlds.
Diet, fitness and beauty features.
A monthly magazine created for modern, well-rounded individuals with diverse interests. It chronicles the arts, history, sciences and popular culture of the times.
Social Development Issues (2011-present)
Scholarly journal promoting consideration of issues that affect social justice as well as the development and well-being of individuals and their communities.
Soldering & Surface Mount Technology (1996-1 year ago)
Peer-reviewed periodical for those with a research and application interest in all branches of soldering and surface mount technologies.
Southern Cultures (Spring 1997-1 year ago)
Explores history, politics, folklore, literature, art and social structures of the South.
Southern Literary Journal (1969-1 year ago)
Essays, literary criticism and reviews on all aspects of the American South.
Southern Living (1998-present)
Features on travel and vacations, gardens and design, homes and interiors, and foods and hospitality.
Sports Illustrated (1992-present)
Reports and interprets the world of sport, recreation and active leisure. It previews, analyzes and comments upon major games and events, as well as those noteworthy for character and spirit alone.
Studies in Romanticism (1997-present)
Critical essays and thematic issues on all aspects of romanticism in English, but quoted matter may be in any major modern European language (with English translations included); book reviews and lists of books received.
Substance Abuse (2004 to 18 months ago)
Wide-ranging coverage of substance abuse and addiction issues for healthcare professionals, addiction specialists and others engaged in research, education, clinical care, and service delivery and evaluation.
Lifestyle and travel magazine focusing on the western U.S.
Surgical & Radiologic Anatomy (1997-1 year ago)
Original papers, review articles, articles on the anatomical bases of medical, surgical and radiological techniques, articles of normal radiologic anatomy, brief reviews of anatomical publications of clinical interest.
Browse Databases and Periodicals by Name
Browse Databases by Format
Popular & Professional Development Periodicals
Need help? Contact the VGCC Library.