Databases: All Social Science & Education: Subject Resources

Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources, including Nature, The Economist, and The New York Times, in PDF and HTML full-text formats. Also includes access to podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN and videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.

General database covering all major academic subjects and offering full text access for over 11,000 publications, with indexing and abstracts for more than 16,000. To learn more about using Academic Search Ultimate, visit the tutorials on the EBSCOhost support page.

Wide-ranging collection of over 70,000 streaming videos covering a wide range of subject areas. Types of videos include documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, newsreels, and more. Available films include Oscar, Emmy, and Peabody-winning titles.

Covers key subjects in two-year college settings, including cosmetology, culinary arts, substance abuse counseling, and electrical technology, to name a few. The database includes over 2,000 full-text journals and over 300 full-text ebooks.

Current and historical bills from the NC General Assembly. Search by attribute, bill number, chamber, committee, and more. (Internet Resource)

The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media.

Collection of ebooks covering history and literary criticism. Includes a large collection of American slave narratives.

Geared towards college students, Gale in Context: College offers access to news content like The Economist, The New York Times, National Geographic, and hundreds of thousands of images, videos, and audio selections that include archival film clips, broadcast video, BBC News, New York Times video, and NPR. (Formerly Gale Student Resources in Context)

The official website for U.S. federal legislative information, which provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information.

Find pro/con essays and background information about current events.

Credo Reference offers online access to 1,250 reference books covering all major academic disciplines. (If you see an error when trying to access Credo Reference, refresh the page or use a different browser.)

Explore the history and culture of North Carolina through original materials from cultural heritage repositories across the state. (Internet Resource)

Explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community. This collection includes more than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals, updated daily. (Formerly InfoTrac Diversity Studies Collection)

Scholarly ebook titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills.

Over 26,000 fiction, reference, scholarly, and professional books online. For tutorials and other help on using EBSCO ebooks on different computers and devices, visit the eBooks on EBSCOhost support page.

A collection of more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports that covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty--such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. It also provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy. (Formerly Gale Educator's Reference Complete)

Maintained by the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC is a database of articles from hundreds of publications about education and educational research. (Internet Resource)

EBSCO's search tool for ERIC, an education research database maintained by the U.S. Department of Education.

Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.

Offers broad yet detailed coverage of international business with access to timely case studies, full-text articles, and robust data sets coupled with authoritative references and tools for analysis.

Searchable collection of online reference titles.

Offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues. The database ties together a variety of sources to present a rich analysis of issues – social, political, military, economic, environmental, science related, health related, cultural – and headlines in world hot spots. Browse by topic to find videos.

Treasury of American genealogical sources: unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. Includes historical census, PERSI, Revolutionary War records, and more.

The experience and impact of Hispanic Americans as recorded by the news media, 1704 to today.

Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications that cover topics including the cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism. The curious traveler will also find information on planning vacations and full-text travel guides from Fodor's. (Formerly InfoTrac Tourism/Hospitality & Leisure Collection)

Includes a wide range of full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines both from and about Latin America and are not simply translations of English-language materials.

International Newsstream provides information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.

Ebooks and journals from renowned scholarly publishers.

Find information and links about your legal rights, the law, the courts, legal forms and more. (Internet Resource)

Access full text for more than 330 journals in Library and Information Science. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.

Offering current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, Military & Government Collection offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and related content.

Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. Offers content in subjects including governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more. (Formerly Gale Military and Intelligence Database)

Symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment of various mental illnesses. Includes brochures, information sheets, reports, press releases, and fact sheets. (Internet Resource)

A wide-ranging collection of online videos, including PBS documentaries, NC history videos, and films from the state Archives. Now hosted in Films on Demand.

The North Carolina Learning Object Repository (NCLOR) collects documents, audio/video clips, simulations, learning modules, assessments, and more – virtually any type of learning resource that can be digitized and processed. Teachers from around the state can then search the NCLOR, find materials appropriate to the classes they are teaching, and use them as is or modify them to suit their needs. (Internet Resource)

North Carolina crime statistics are reports submitted to the NC State Bureau of Investigation (NCSBI) from participating law enforcement agencies across the state. The NCSBI provides the collection of data to the Federal Bureau of Investigation’s (FBI) National Incident Based Reporting System (NIBRS), as part of the FBI’s Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program.

Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with areas of study such as Business, Health, Criminal Justice, Science, Humanities, Political Science and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local news sources. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.

Women's writings from the Colonial period to 1950. Includes writings by Abigail Adams, Louisa May Alcott, Susan B. Anthony, Clara Barton, Dorothea L. Dix, Julia Ward Howe, and more.

Informational brochures and pamphlets, reports (annual, biennial, statistical), serials (newsletters, checklists, magazines), handbooks, studies, and other information resources produced by state government. (Internet Resource)

A database devoted to current controversial topics. Find news and scholarly articles, statistical data, relevant viewpoints, primary sources, and a variety of other sources useful to anyone researching current issues. (Formerly Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context)

The Oyez Project is a multimedia archive devoted to the Supreme Court of the United States and its work. It aims to be a complete and authoritative source for all audio recorded in the Court since the installation of a recording system in October 1955. The Project also provides authoritative information on all justices and offers a virtual reality Tour of portions of the Supreme Court building, including the chambers of some of the justices. (Internet Resource)

A suite of test preparation materials covering core academic skills, career preparation, graduate school admissions, and placement testing. Registration is required so that users can track their progress.

This database provides information pertinent to the study of business and finance topics across Asia and Europe, including academic journals, newspapers, newswires, and magazines. Find information on companies, economies, markets, international trade, and overall business conditions and practices throughout these regions.

This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in Australia and New Zealand.

Vocational information on technical topics, such as computing science, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design, and photography.

Research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.

This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in East European and Central European countries.

Research on primary, secondary, and higher education, as well as special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.

ProQuest Indian Journals is a comprehensive, multidisciplinary resource providing full-text, scholarly journals, all published in India.

This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many Latin American countries, Spain, and Portugal.

This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many Middle Eastern and African countries.

Articles from topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more.

Political science and international relations journals, dissertations and working papers on topics such as comparative politics, political economy, international development, and environmental policy.

Clinical and social psychology articles on topics such as genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more.

General reference database from business and political science to literature and psychology scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and daily news content, accessible to readers and researchers at every level.

Research covering topics in sociology, social work, anthropology, and politics.

Sociological and social work research including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction, and more.

This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in Turkey.

This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland.

Provides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind. Offers content of interest to students, researchers and general users. (Formerly InfoTrac Psychology Collection)

Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970, provides access to large-scale maps of North Carolina towns and cities.

The site includes population, economic, and income data as well as county profiles and rankings. (Internet Resource)

An authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

Full-text academic ebooks on multiple subject areas. View in a web browser or download the PDF.
Important! Make sure the "Show content I have access to" box is checked when searching. This ensures you are searching only full-text titles.

Provides a complete overview of our nation’s past that covers the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, people, and more. Includes primary sources, reference books, periodical articles, and audiovisual resources. (Formerly Gale U.S. History in Context)

Offers full-text, balanced coverage of both current thoughts on events in U.S. history as well as scholarly work established in the field. (Formerly InfoTrac US History Collection)

Gain valuable insight into conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale. The collection is comprised of more than 200 subject-appropriate, full-text periodicals that are updated daily. (Formerly InfoTrac War & Terrorism Collection)

Combines primary and secondary historical sources with multimedia to chronicle 5,000 years of world history.

Offers balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field. (Formerly InfoTrac World History Collection)