Databases: Southern Culture: Subject Resources

Wide-ranging collection of over 70,000 streaming videos covering a wide range of subject areas. Types of videos include documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, newsreels, and more. Available films include Oscar, Emmy, and Peabody-winning titles.

The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media.

Collection of ebooks covering history and literary criticism. Includes a large collection of American slave narratives.

Credo Reference offers online access to 1,250 reference books covering all major academic disciplines. (If you see an error when trying to access Credo Reference, refresh the page or use a different browser.)

Scholarly ebook titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills.

Over 26,000 fiction, reference, scholarly, and professional books online. For tutorials and other help on using EBSCO ebooks on different computers and devices, visit the eBooks on EBSCOhost support page.

Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.

The experience and impact of Hispanic Americans as recorded by the news media, 1704 to today.

3.5 million pages of digitized content from over 1,000 NC county newspapers.

A collection of more than 1,000 eBooks from a variety of North Carolina publishers. Includes popular and scholarly nonfiction, novels by well-known NC authors, and award-winning short fiction and poetry.

This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.

Provides a complete overview of our nation’s past that covers the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, people, and more. Includes primary sources, reference books, periodical articles, and audiovisual resources. (Formerly Gale U.S. History in Context)

Offers full-text, balanced coverage of both current thoughts on events in U.S. history as well as scholarly work established in the field. (Formerly InfoTrac US History Collection)