Databases: History: Subject Resources

Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources, including Nature, The Economist, and The New York Times, in PDF and HTML full-text formats. Also includes access to podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN and videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.

General database covering all major academic subjects and offering full text access for over 11,000 publications, with indexing and abstracts for more than 16,000. To learn more about using Academic Search Ultimate, visit the tutorials on the EBSCOhost support page.

Wide-ranging collection of over 70,000 streaming videos covering a wide range of subject areas. Types of videos include documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, newsreels, and more. Available films include Oscar, Emmy, and Peabody-winning titles.

Offers a comprehensive collection of full-text biographies from biographical reference collections and magazines.

The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media.

Collection of ebooks covering history and literary criticism. Includes a large collection of American slave narratives.

Credo Reference offers online access to 1,250 reference books covering all major academic disciplines. (If you see an error when trying to access Credo Reference, refresh the page or use a different browser.)

Explore the history and culture of North Carolina through original materials from cultural heritage repositories across the state. (Internet Resource)

Scholarly ebook titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills.

Over 26,000 fiction, reference, scholarly, and professional books online. For tutorials and other help on using EBSCO ebooks on different computers and devices, visit the eBooks on EBSCOhost support page.

Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.

An index of biographical information that provides names, birth/death years, and citations to books and articles with bibliographic information on that person.

Searchable collection of online reference titles.

Treasury of American genealogical sources: unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. Includes historical census, PERSI, Revolutionary War records, and more.

The experience and impact of Hispanic Americans as recorded by the news media, 1704 to today.

3.5 million pages of digitized content from over 1,000 NC county newspapers.

Cultural, political, and social history of indigenous peoples from the seventeenth to the twentieth century.

Ebooks and journals from renowned scholarly publishers.

A wide-ranging collection of online videos, including PBS documentaries, NC history videos, and films from the state Archives. Now hosted in Films on Demand.

Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with areas of study such as Business, Health, Criminal Justice, Science, Humanities, Political Science and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local news sources. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.

Women's writings from the Colonial period to 1950. Includes writings by Abigail Adams, Louisa May Alcott, Susan B. Anthony, Clara Barton, Dorothea L. Dix, Julia Ward Howe, and more.

General reference database from business and political science to literature and psychology scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and daily news content, accessible to readers and researchers at every level.

Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970, provides access to large-scale maps of North Carolina towns and cities.

Provides a complete overview of our nation’s past that covers the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, people, and more. Includes primary sources, reference books, periodical articles, and audiovisual resources. (Formerly Gale U.S. History in Context)

Offers full-text, balanced coverage of both current thoughts on events in U.S. history as well as scholarly work established in the field. (Formerly InfoTrac US History Collection)

Combines primary and secondary historical sources with multimedia to chronicle 5,000 years of world history.

Offers balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field. (Formerly InfoTrac World History Collection)