VGCC Library Services: Culinary Arts &amp; Hospitality: Online Videos & Books

Online Videos for Culinary Arts & Related Programs

To search online videos, click one of the database links below and use keywords to find videos. Example keywords are "baking" or "culinary."

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.
Academic Video Online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Wide-ranging collection of over 70,000 streaming videos covering a wide range of subject areas. Types of videos include documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, newsreels, and more. Available films include Oscar, Emmy, and Peabody-winning titles.

Online Videos

Cultural Flavours (Series)
This series explores the key flavors, recipes, and ingredients of a variety of cuisines from around the world.
Food and Cooking Video Series
A series of videos and animations of modern nutrition, with contributions from experts in the field.
Food Service Skills
This four-part series covers the core areas of commercial food preparation and reviews each in detail.
Food Studies Videos from Learning Zone Express
Instructional and educational videos covering a wide variety of culinary and nutritional topics.
Food Truck Chefs
The reality of owning a food truck is not as glorious as it may seem. The owners of three separate food trucks share their inspiring stories of standing up to the daily challenges of running a food truck.
James Beard
Experience a century of food through the life of James Beard, who spoke of the importance of localism and sustainability long before those terms had entered the vernacular. A cookbook author, journalist, television celebrity and teacher, Beard helped to pioneer and expand the food media industry into the billion-dollar business it is today.
The Story Of
The series explores the history and development of some of the world's most important culinary elements, such as tea, spices, sugar, and more.
Turning Up the Heat: Basic Dry Cooking Methods
Baking, barbequing, toasting, or roasting—if it’s a dry heat cooking method, this high-energy guide has it. The essentials of wokking, sautéing, and vat frying get plenty of attention here, as well as a wide range of grilling and baking techniques.

Online Books for Culinary Arts & Related Programs

Take Note: The online materials listed here are not an exhaustive list of the available resources for the Culinary Arts degree & related programs. If looking for other materials, please consult the ebook databases or meet with one of VGCC's librarians.

Advances in Food Science and Nutrition
ISBN: 9781118137093
Publication Date: 2013
Baking Technology and Nutrition by Stanley P. Cauvain; Rosie H. Clark
ISBN: 9781119387152
Publication Date: 2019-09-10
Presents an innovative study of the changes taking place in the world of baking.
Careers in Hospitality and Tourism
ISBN: 9781619254770
Publication Date: 2014
The Chemistry of Cookery by W. Mattieu Williams (Editor)
ISBN: 9781536152685
Publication Date: 2019-03-13
The kitchen is a chemical laboratory, and modern chemistry can help the cook in doing his or her work more efficiently.
Cook's Encyclopaedia by Tom Stobart
ISBN: 9781910690093
Publication Date: 2016
Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink by John F. Mariani
ISBN: 9781620401606
Publication Date: 2014
Essential Financial Techniques for Hospitality Managers by Cathy Burgess
ISBN: 9781906884161
Publication Date: 2010
Practical Cookery
Publication Date: 2019
14th edition of a classic British recipe and reference book used to train professional chefs for over 50 years.
Science of Cooking: Understanding the Biology and Chemistry Behind Food and Cooking by Joseph Provost; Brenda Kelly; Jeffrey Bodwin; Mark Wallert
ISBN: 9781119210337
Publication Date: 2016
Waiter and Waitress Wait Staff Training Handbook by Lora Arduser
ISBN: 9781620230565
Publication Date: 2015-12-30
This guide covers all aspect of customer service for the positions of host, waiter or waitress, head waiter, captain, and bus person.