Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Career Exploration Websites
Career information is plentiful on the Web, but you need to make sure that it is from a reliable source. Federal and State governments, as well as many non-profit organizations, have useful and reliable websites. Here are several websites that might be useful when researching different careers.
Career OneStop: Explore Careers
Get national and state-specific statistics about hundreds of jobs over a number of different categories. Information given is often taken from the Occupational Outlook Handbook, but many of the links are to other sources on information. Site is sponsored by U.S. Department of Labor.
College Foundation of North Carolina: Plan for a career
This section of the CFNC website offers ways to explore career options. The "Learn About Yourself" section has different quizzes to help you identify characteristics or interests that can help you choose a career. "Explore Careers" has the usual job information, but can include interviews and other supplementary material.
Films on Demand: Careers & Job Search
List of the Careers & Job Search videos available from Films on Demand.
A site from the NC Department of Commerce that offers ways to explore careers, find jobs, and see labor statistics.
The Occupational Information Network (O*NET) includes a searchable database of hundreds of jobs. Each entry lists various characteristics of the job, such as tasks performed in the occupation, physical requirements, and other skills needed.
Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH)
This is the career resource to rule them all. Compiled and presented by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, it covers most of the jobs and careers you can think of. Each job entry covers the essential information: work duties, needed education, expected salary, prospects, etc.
Using this site, searchers can find information on job descriptions and salaries.
Career Personality Tests
Career Coach: Assessment
Provided by VGCC Career Services and free for students, complete a 6-question or 60-question survey to learn about career paths that might interest you.
Career OneStop : Self-Assessments
Career OneStop has resources for skills and work values assessments. Work Values assessments help you learn about your own work values and careers related them. Skills assessments help you answer interview questions like "What can you do for my organization?" and "What problems can you solve?"
Career Inventory Test
After answering these questions, the taker will be provided with a list of careers that fit his/her personality type, ordered by how much more your personality type prefers it to the average.
Quest Career Services Free Career Test
Includes a career aptitude test to help you discover jobs that match your natural strengths.
VGCC Career & Goal Exploration Resources
An online career planning tool designed for VGCC students that includes career assessments, career and program information, and salary, job, and employer information.
The Career Services staff at VGCC is committed to providing our students and graduates with the necessary services, resources, and opportunities to define their personal career goals and prepare for future success in the job market and workplace.
College Central Network
A site where approved employers may post jobs and search resumes. These services are available to VGCC students, alumni and employers.
Career Exploration : Books
Find Your Fit by
Publication Date: 2016-10-20
Guides you through answering foundational questions to identify the work environment best for you.
What's Your Type of Career? by
Publication Date: 2010-09-16
Using the checklists and exercises in this book, the reader can explore jobs that not only match their interests but also fit their personality types. Available online. Click title to access
Resume Building : Print Materials
Can I Wear My Nose Ring to the Interview? by
Call Number: HF 5382.7 R449 2009
Publication Date: 2009-04-23
Takes readers step-by-step through the job search process and teaches how to begin the search with a professional mind-set. Available at all VGCC campuses.
Resume 101 by
Call Number: HF 5383 .S3275 2012
Publication Date: 2012-03-06
Helps students to identify their strengths and transferable skills from their unique life experiences. Available at Main, Franklin, South and Warren Campuses.
The Resume and Cover Letter Phrase Book by
Call Number: HF 5383 .S329 2011
Publication Date: 2010-11-18
Teaches phrases that best highlight your achievements and help to garner wanted attention. Available at Main Campus.
Unbeatable Resumes by
Publication Date: 2011-06-16
Learn the critical components of well-written resume, how to ensure it gets read, what employers look for, and how to customize a resume for a particular job, plus other job search tips. Available online. (Click title to access.)
Need help? Contact the VGCC Library.