VGCC Library Services: Reference: Biography: Online Resources

Biography

Biographical reference sources contain biographies of many, sometimes thousands, of people. They are not as complete as stand-alone biographies, but cover many more subjects. Many biographical sources are compiled by discipline, such as science or the arts, or geographic area, such as the United States.

Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
An index of biographical information that provides names, birth/death years, and citations to books and articles with bibliographic information on that person.
Biography Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Offers a comprehensive collection of full-text biographies from biographical reference collections and magazines.

Contemporary Black Biography
Informative biographical profiles of the important and influential persons of African American and/or black heritage
Contemporary Hispanic Biography
Informative biographical profiles of the important and influential persons of Latino heritage who form the international Hispanic community.
Contemporary Musicians
Biographical information on important figures in today's musical arena, covering artists working in all genres of modern music, including rock, jazz, pop, rap, rhythm and blues, folk, New Age, country, gospel and reggae.
Contemporary Theatre, Film, and Television
Biographical and career information on people currently working in the entertainment industry.
Encyclopedia of World Biography
Covers notable individuals from every part of the world and from all time periods who have made significant contributions to human culture. Search all editions to find entries in later volumes.
Great Lives:A Century in Obituaries
Collects obituaries from the London Times newspaper for notable people of the 20th Century. (Other books in this series are also available in the same database.)
Musicians and Composers of the 20th Century
Offers biographies of musicians active and influential between the years 1901 and 2000. Also available at Main Campus Library in print.
Scribner Encyclopedia of American Lives
Scholarly biographies of notable Americans. Profiles careers and achievements as well as biographical data including family members; educational background; marriage and divorce dates; addresses of residences; and cause of death and place of burial.
Scribner Writers Online Series
Bio-critical essays on the lives and works of more than 1,400 important authors from around the world. Entries include concise essays, citations, and biographical information that places the author's work in personal and historical context.
Back to Reference

Reference: Biography: Online Resources

Menu

Biography