VGCC Library Services: Social Problems (SOC 220): Topic Resources

Abortion Dilemma

Abortion: An Eternal Social and Moral Issue by Sandra M. Alters
Publication Date: 2012-03-23
Provides both sides of the divisive argument surrounding abortion. Also includes statistics, views from around the world, religious thoughts, and legal rulings.

CQ Researcher: Abortion Controversies
A balanced, comprehensive look at the background, issues, and viewpoints involved in the abortion debate.

Alcohol, Tobacco and Illicit Drugs by Information Plus
ISBN: 9781569957868
Publication Date: 2013-10-11
focuses on the social and moral issues surrounding alcohol, tobacco, and illicit drugs.

Alcohol Use and Abuse (from Global Social Issues: An Encyclopedia)
Long article that details the history and status alcohol use and abuse as a social problem.
Drug Abuse (from Global Social Issues: An Encyclopedia)
Reference background on the social issues surrounding drug abuse.

CQ Researcher: Global Population Pressures
Examines the current and potential effects of worldwide population growth and features viewpoints considering the issue.
Urbanization (from Immigration and Migration: In Context)
Encyclopedia article that defines and explains urbanization and its history and effects.

The Handbook of Deviant Behavior by Clifton D. Bryant
Publication Date: 2012-04-27
Presents a comprehensive and accessible overview of the contemporary body of knowledge in the field of social deviance.

Sociology and Sexual Deviance (from The Handbook of Deviance, 2015)
Describes the history of sociological understanding of sexual deviance and how it is currently viewed in the context of sociology.

CQ Researcher: Wealth and Inequality
Balanced report explains the history, issues and viewpoints surrounding the inequality of wealth between the rich and the poor
Inequality and Poverty (from Key Concepts in Urban Studies)
Defines and analyzes the concepts of inequality and poverty.

CQ Researcher: College Costs
Balanced article that delves into the background of college attendance, costs, and benefits, and examines the current issues, especially rising student debt.
CQ Researcher: Education Funding
Looks at the history, issues, and status of the debate over funding for education.
Crime and Violence in Schools (from Growing Up: Issues Affecting America's Youth)
Book chapter with statistics and information on multiple types of school violence.

Education: Meeting America's Needs? by Sandra M. Alters
ISBN: 9781414481364
Publication Date: 2012-03-30
Covers multiple issues and debates in education, including special education, higher education, home schooling, school choice and vouchers, teacher demand, and public opinions about education.

Opposing Viewpoints: Charter Schools
This topic page links to articles, references, opinions and more on the topic of charter schools.

50 Years after Deinstitutionalization by Brea L. Perry (Editor)
Publication Date: 2016-07-28
Examines deinstitutionalization's legacies and looks critically at contemporary problems and solutions related to mental illness.

CQ Researcher: Health Care Debates
Recently written examination of the issues surrounding health care costs and access in the U.S.
Health Care (from Culture Wars in America)
Article recounts the major issues and events in dealing with health care issues in America.

Mental Illness in America by Tony Wharton
Publication Date: 2015-12-01
This issue guide examines three options to reduce the impact of mental illness in the U.S.: put safety first, enable mental health services to all who need them, and let people plot their own course.

CQ Researcher: Climate Change
A balanced article covering the background of and discussions about climate change.

The Environment: A Revolution in Attitudes by Kim Masters Evans
ISBN: 9781414481401
Publication Date: 2012-03-30
Examines the steps that have been taken to protect Earth's natural environment and the controversies that surround them.

CQ Researcher: Racial Conflict
Comprehensive look at the history and issues involved in racial conflict in the United States.

Minorities: Race and Ethnicity in America by Melissa J. Doak
ISBN: 9781414481463
Publication Date: 2012-10-12
Examines the differences between minority groups and white Americans across the economic, political, and social spectrums. Explores the experience of African-Americans, Hispanics, Native Americans, Asian-Americans, and other minority groups living in the United States.

Race and Ethnicity (from Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology)
Defines the terms race and ethnicity and the sociological history and context of their use.

Balance of Power Relationships (from Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace and Conflict)
Defines and explains the "balance of power" concept and different types of power relationships.
Mother Courage and the Future of War (from Social Analysis)
Seeks to explore the costs of armed conflict—economic, affective, and social—by examining the experience of a single family, two generations of it, caught in the midst of two conflicts.
Terrorism (from Global Social Issues: An Encyclopedia)
Offers a definition and history of terrorism and places it in a social context.