VGCC Library Services: Sociology of the Family (SOC 213): General Resources

Search Library Resources

Search Electronic Resources

Search Items in the VGCC Library

Using the VGCC Library

To find print resources in the VGCC Library, you can search the library catalog (see above) using relevant keywords, such as

family history
families and social class
race and ethnicity
gender socialization
family violence

or use keywords for the specific topics you are looking for.

You can also browse the library shelves by going to the following call number areas:

HM: Sociology (General)
HQ: The family. Marriage. Men & women.
HT: Communities. Classes. Races

Sociology Books

See the following resources for selected ebooks and print books about sociology. To search for more, search our electronic resources and/or online catalog.

Online

Click on the book title to go to the ebook. To search inside a book, look for the "Search within this publication" search box.

Encyclopedia of Sociology
ISBN: 9780028648538
Publication Date: 2001
Encyclopedia of Sociology Research by Miranda O. Parker (Editor); Alexander D. Petrov (Editor)
ISBN: 9781613246689
Publication Date: 2011
Key Concepts in Family Studies by Rosalind A. Edwards; Jane Ribbens McCarthy
ISBN: 9781412920056
Publication Date: 2010-12-29
The Social History of the American Family by Lawrence H. Ganong (Editor); Marilyn Coleman (Editor)
ISBN: 9781452286167
Publication Date: 2014-09-17
A 4-volume subject encyclopedia that explores the role of the family as the fundamental social unit throughout American history.
The Wiley-Blackwell Companion to the Sociology of Families by Judith Treas (Editor); Jacqueline Scott (Editor); Martin Richards (Editor)
ISBN: 9781118374085
Publication Date: 2014-03-21

In Print

Click on a book's title to see its catalog record and availability.

Encyclopedia of Sociology
Call Number: REF HM 425 .E5 2000
ISBN: 9780028648538
Publication Date: 2000
Main Campus Reference Collection

Sociology Videos

Statistical Data

Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
An authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

Sociology Publications Online

Selected sociology periodicals from the library's databases. Find more by using the Journal & Ebook Finder

Behavior and Social Issues (2001-present)
A peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary scientific journal which serves as a primary scholarly outlet for articles that advance the analysis of human social behavior, particularly with regard to understanding and influencing important social problems.
Contexts (2009-1 year ago)
Magazine published by the American Sociological Association that makes cutting-edge social research accessible to general readers.
Journal of Marriage and Family (1988-1 year ago)
Peer-reviewed journal covering research, theory and critical discussion on aspects of marriage, close relationships, and families.
Social Development Issues (2011-present)
Scholarly journal promoting consideration of issues that affect social justice as well as the development and well-being of individuals and their communities.

Sociology Databases

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources, including Nature, The Economist, and The New York Times, in PDF and HTML full-text formats. Also includes access to podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN and videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
General database covering all major academic subjects and offering full text access for over 11,000 publications, with indexing and abstracts for more than 16,000. To learn more about using Academic Search Ultimate, visit the tutorials on the EBSCOhost support page.
Academic Video Online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Wide-ranging collection of over 70,000 streaming videos covering a wide range of subject areas. Types of videos include documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, newsreels, and more. Available films include Oscar, Emmy, and Peabody-winning titles.
CQ Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
Find pro/ con essays and background information about current events.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference offers online access to 1,250 reference books covering all major academic disciplines. (If you see an error when trying to access Credo Reference, refresh the page or use a different browser.)
Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community. This collection includes more than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals, updated daily. (Formerly InfoTrac Diversity Studies Collection)
Ebook Central Academic and Public Library Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly ebook titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills.
eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Over 26,000 fiction, reference, scholarly, and professional books online. For tutorials and other help on using EBSCO ebooks on different computers and devices, visit the eBooks on EBSCOhost support page.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (Gale Ebooks) This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of online reference titles.
Global Issues (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues. The database ties together a variety of sources to present a rich analysis of issues – social, political, military, economic, environmental, science related, health related, cultural – and headlines in world hot spots. Browse by topic to find videos.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
A database devoted to current controversial topics. Find news and scholarly articles, statistical data, relevant viewpoints, primary sources, and a variety of other sources useful to anyone researching current issues. (Formerly Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context)
Points of View Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Points of View Reference Center provides a balance of materials from all viewpoints with main essays, leading political magazines from all sides of the political spectrum, newspapers, radio and television news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.
ProQuest Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Research covering topics in sociology, social work, anthropology, and politics.
ProQuest Sociology Database This link opens in a new window
Sociological and social work research including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction, and more.
Social Work Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Information resource for social workers and mental health professionals. Covers a wide array of topics such as social problems, adolescent health, aging, end-of-life care, clinical social work, and diversity.
Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
An authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

Library Services

Contact:

Main: (252) 738-3279
South: (252) 738-3510
Franklin: (252) 738-3606
Warren: (252) 738-3686

Sociology of the Family (SOC 213): General Resources