VGCC Library Services: BUS 270: Professional Development: College Success

College Success: Books

If book is available online, click title to go to it. Off-campus users will be prompted to sign in with their myVGCC (WebAdvisor) login and password.

Community College Advantage by Diane Melville
Call Number: LB 2328.15 .U6 M46 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Whether you're looking to transfer to a four-year school or you want an edge in the job market, community college could be your key to success. The question is: How can you make community college work to your advantage? Available at Main, South, and Franklin.
Community College Guide by Joshua Halberstam; Debra Gonsher
Publication Date: 2009
Information on attending and succeeding at community college. Available online
Financial Aid for the Utterly Confused by Anthony J. Bellia
Call Number: LB 2337.4 .B455 2007
Publication Date: 2006
"Written by a top financial aid pro with 30 years' experience, Financial Aid for the Utterly Confused clues you in on all your financing aid options." Available at Main.
Secrets of Taking Any Test by Judith Meyers
Call Number: LB 3060.57 .M49 2000
ISBN: 9781576853078
Publication Date: 2000
Presents several strategies for developing test-taking skills. Available at Main.
Student's Guide to Exam Success by Eileen Tracy
Call Number: LB 3060.57 .T73 2002
ISBN: 9780335207268
Publication Date: 2002
A variety of strategies which will help students learn how to successfully prepare for exam success. Available at Main.
The Community College Career Track by Thomas Snyder
Call Number: LB 2328 .S61 2012
Publication Date: 2012
In coming years, millions of great jobs will be opening up in growth areas like advanced manufacturing, biotechnology, health care, information technology, and sustainable energy. These jobs can pay as well as, or much better than, the average income for four-year college graduates. They generally offer high levels of day-to-day satisfaction. And the path to all of them begins in the community colleges. Available at Main and South.
The Everything Guide to Study Skills by Cynthia Clumeck Muchnick
Call Number: LB 1049 .M83 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Provides the tools to develop better study habits, boost grades, and promote academic success. Available at Main

VGCC Information

VGCC College History
This page contains the history of Vance-Granville Community College, including links to information on our mascot, seal, logo, & slogan.
VGCC Vision, Mission & Values
This page contains Vance-Granville's mission and vision statements, as well as the values we, the faculty, staff, and students of VGCC, strive to uphold.
VGCC College Catalog
This resource provides students with a catalog of information for the current academic year.
Associate in Arts
This page gives an overview of the Associate in Arts program which provides students with the first two years of a four-year baccalaureate degree as an excellent foundation for degrees in communication, education, humanities, fine arts, languages, and social and behavioral sciences."
Associate in Science
This page gives an overview of the Associate in Science program which provides students with the first two years of a four-year baccalaureate degree as a "foundation for degrees in engineering, computer science, mathematics, and the natural sciences."
VGCC Financial Aid Office
This page provides various information on financial aid such as hours for the office, types of aid, and how to apply for aid.
Student Learning & Success Center
The Student Learning & Success Center offers Career Services, Personal Counseling, Advising, and Disabilities Services. They can help students with all of the steps needed to get enrolled — application, orientation, course selections and registration.

Academic Goals

CFNC.org - College Search
This page gives overview information on such things as admissions, the academics, and the process for transferring to the college/university.
CFNC.org - Transfer Student Planner
The College Foundation of North Carolina offers more information about transfer credits and community college classes.
College Board -- Big Future College Search Step-by-Step
This page guides you through the college search by asking questions about factors that may play a significant role in a student's college decision, such as location, cost, majors, and the learning environment. A great resource for starting the college decision process.
College Navigator: National Center for Education Statistics

Student Role & Responsibility

31 Things Every College Student Needs to Know
Not a scholarly source but touches on basics that every college student needs to know.
Digital Distractions
Provides examples of habits and tools that can be implemented in order to minimize the distraction that technological devices breed.
Distractions - UNC-Chapel Hill
Details distractions to college success and forces students to take responsibility for overcoming those distractions.
VGCC - Student Rights and Responsibilities
This page provides students with an overview of their rights as a current or potential student and then details their responsibilities as a student.

Reading Strategies

Interrogating Texts - Harvard University
This guide covers "six reading habits to develop in your first year at Harvard." However, these reading habits can be applied within any college setting.
Reading and Writing Skills - CollegeAtlas.org
These guides will help students to read and write at a college level.
Reading Comprehension Tips
Read suggestions for improving your comprehension of college texts.
Reading Strategies - Pilgram Library, Defiance College
This libguide from Defiance College provides assistance with college-level reading and comprehension strategies.

Study Strategies

Evidence Based Study Strategies - UNC-Chapel Hill
This video outlines key studying strategies.
College Student Study Tips - College Grants Database
This resource has time management, note-taking, study tips and much more.
College Study Tips - CollegeAtlas.org
These college study tips cover the principles needed for successful studying. Students are challenged to experiment and see which study tips and ideas work the best for them.
LearningExpress Library
This is a great tool to prepare for various tests. Contains practice tests and self-paced courses for students & adult learners. Also has tutorials on writing college essays, cover letters and resumes.
Study Guide Zone
"An online study resources directory, including advice on different types of learners, concentration and memorization techniques, critical thinking skills, testing and essay writing."
Avoiding Study Traps - UNC-Chapel Hill
This page lists 10 traps that students fall into when studying and then gives ways to avoid them.

Note-Taking Strategies

Note Taking Systems - California State Polytechnic
This page illustrates various note taking strategies.
Cornell Note Taking System
This easy-to-use formula allows students to create custom note taking sheets for use during classes.
Note-Taking from Reading - UNC-Chapel Hill
This video outlines the steps to taking good notes.
Listening & Participation - Dartmouth College
In order to take notes, you first have to listen. Here are tips for listening and participating well in class.
College Student Study Tips - College Grants Database
This resource has time management, note-taking, study tips and much more.