Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Business Administration : Print Materials
Take Note: The print materials listed here are not an exhaustive list of the library resources related to Business Administration. If looking for other materials, please consult the library catalog or meet with one of VGCC's librarians.
Accounting for Non-Accountants by
Call Number: HF 5636 .L33 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Guide to the vocabulary, principles and practices of accounting for people who have never taken an accounting class. Available at South Campus.
AMA Business Boot Camp by
Call Number: HD 38.2 .R45 2013
Publication Date: 2012
Available in print at Main, Franklin, and South Campuses.
AMA Dictionary of Business and Management by
Call Number: REF HD 30.15 .K894 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Dictionary that covers terminology and definitions from all areas of business. Available at Main Campus in Reference.
Contemporary Business by
Call Number: HF 1008 .K78 2011
Publication Date: 2011
An introduction to business language and concepts for students. Available at Main Campus.
Call Number: HD 57.7 .R365 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Practical steps for business leaders to expand their businesses. Available at Main, Franklin, and South.
Small Business Taxes Made Easy by
Call Number: HD 2341 .R657 2011
Publication Date: 2010
Walks you through the small business tax process with tips for reducing tax losses. Available at Main Campus.
Strauss's Handbook of Business Information by
Call Number: Z 7164 .C81 S7796 2012 Reference
Publication Date: 2012
A reference guide to business resources in print and online. Part one covers general areas of business; part two looks at specific topics (marketing, investment, etc). Available at Main Campus in Reference.
Administrative Assistant's Update (1998-present)
Trade magazine with articles on both hard skills and soft skills, issues and trends in the field, plus information on professional development opportunities.
American Economist (1987-present)
A peer reviewed academic journal that publishes original research from all fields and schools of economic thought.
American Journal of Business (1986-1 year ago)
Publishes work that makes a significant contribution to the understanding of business.
American Trucker (2011-present)
Information for truck owner operators, fleet owners/managers, and buyers of heavy-duty trucks and trailers.s.
Black Enterprise (1987-present)
Business magazine for black professionals, business people, college students and corporate executives.
Bloomberg Businessweek (1997-present)
Delivers business and markets news, data, analysis, and video to the world.
Consumer Reports (1996-Jan 2009)
Product reviews and Ratings on cars, appliances, electronics and more.
Current Issues in Economics & Finance (1995-2014)
Articles, review articles and commentary on a wide variety of current economic issues and perspectives.
Economist (2010-1 month ago)
Offers authoritative insight and opinion on international news, politics, business, finance, science and technology.
Fast Company (2000-present)
Provides information which empowers innovators to challenge convention and create the future of business.
Food Logistics (1999-present)
Trade publication for the food logistics and supply chain industries, aimed at executives and managers in transportation, distribution, warehousing, and information technology.
Features original articles on finance, industry, investing, and marketing topics.
GMP/Supply Chain Report (2015-present)
Covers changing supply chain and import/export issues monitoring counterfeiting, track and trace issues, supply chain integrity, and GMP issues.
Harvard Business Review
"Ideas, insight, and inspiration for business leaders worldwide. Each issue contains breakthrough ideas on strategy, leadership, innovation and management."
Presents articles on financial & personnel management, marketing, administration, sales and operations for executives & managers of small to mid-sized companies.
Journal of Small Business Management (1971-1 year ago)
Articles, notes and other features on subjects of current professional interest in the fields of small business management and entrepreneurship aimed at small business readers and their advisors.
Kiplinger's Personal Finance (1991-present)
Relates to saving, investing, taxes, insurance, major purchases including homes, education, health, travel & more.
Physician Practice Perspectives (2009-2017)
Provides practice-management ideas written to help practice managers and administrators effectively run their practices and improve profitability.
National and international news, behavior, books, business, cinema, law, education, environment, modern living, music, nation, press, religion, theater, video and world.
Business & Economics Databases
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO)
General database covering all major academic subjects and offering full text access for over 11,000 publications, with indexing and abstracts for more than 16,000. To learn more about using Academic Search Ultimate, visit the tutorials on the EBSCOhost support page
Associates Programs Source Plus (EBSCO)
Covers key subjects in two-year college settings, including cosmetology, culinary arts, substance abuse counseling, and electrical technology, to name a few. The database includes over 2,000 full-text journals and over 300 full-text e-books.
Business (Gale OneFile)
Provides full-text coverage of all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Includes nearly 4,000 leading business and trade publications, updated daily and a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications. (Formerly Gale Business Collection)
Economic Development Partnership of North Carolina
Programs and resources for people starting a new business or moving a business to North Carolina. (Internet Resource)
Business Source Ultimate (EBSCO)
Peer-reviewed, full-text journals and other resources that provide historical information and current trends in business. Includes 3,500+ full-text journals and magazines covering accounting, administration, banking, economics, finance, human resources, management, and marketing.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database
Articles spanning Canadian agriculture, business and economics, education, government and politics, health sciences, history, literature, medical sciences, social sciences, and more, including scholarly content.
Ebook Central Academic and Public Library Complete
Scholarly ebook titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills.
Economics & Theory (Gale OneFile)
Gain access to full-text academic journals and magazines with information useful for starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, constructing economic models, investing for the future, researching rates, and more. (Formerly InfoTrac Business, Economics, & Theory Collection)
Entrepreneurial Studies Source (EBSCO)
A collection of full-text resources for entrepreneurship and small business research. Includes full-text magazines and journals, reference books, company profiles, and videos.
Entrepreneurship (Gale OneFile)
Covers all aspects of starting and operating a business, including finance, management, marketing, human resources, franchising, accounting, and taxes. It includes 300 business journals and magazines and reference titles such as the Business Plans Handbook series, the Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Strategies, Encyclopedia of Management, and Encyclopedia of Small Business. (Formerly InfoTrac Small Business Collection)
Films on Demand
Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.
Gale Business Insights: Global
Offers broad yet detailed coverage of international business with access to timely case studies, full-text articles, and robust data sets coupled with authoritative references and tools for analysis.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (Gale Ebooks)
Searchable collection of online reference titles.
Health & Medicine (Gale OneFile)
For students, researchers, and health care professionals, provides up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics with more than 2,500 full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries. (Formerly Gale Health Reference Center Academic)
Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO)
Consumer health database with access to health information from a wide variety of consumer health magazines and reference books.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO)
Full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
Hospitality and Tourism (Gale OneFile)
Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications that cover topics including the cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism. The curious traveler will also find information on planning vacations and full-text travel guides from Fodor's. (Formerly InfoTrac Tourism/Hospitality & Leisure Collection)
Nursing and Allied Health (Gale OneFile)
Will help nursing and allied health professionals, as well as students in those fields, who are looking for answers related to the specialized care, treatment, and management of all sorts of patients. (Formerly InfoTrac Nursing & Allied Health Collection)
ProQuest Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection
Journal articles, reference reports, proceedings, and dissertations covering current news and topics as well as the trends and history influencing important accounting, tax, and banking issues.
ProQuest Asian & European Business Collection
This database provides information pertinent to the study of business and finance topics across Asia and Europe, including academic journals, newspapers, newswires, and magazines. Find information on companies, economies, markets, international trade, and overall business conditions and practices throughout these regions.
ProQuest Business Market Research Collection
This database contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots.
ProQuest Entrepreneurship Database
Information for entrepreneurs and researchers that includes business start-up plans, video clips, journals, business cases, and more.
Reference and research tool providing instant, real-time access to accurate, in-depth information on 24 million U.S. businesses and 235 million U.S. residents. ReferenceUSA makes it faster and easier to find new business opportunities, research executives and companies, find news articles, conduct job searches, research papers, locate addresses and phone numbers, conduct market research and much more.
Web-based mapping application that lets you create professional-quality maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data.
Testing & Education Reference Center
A testing and education preparation resource that includes in-depth information on college, graduate, and professional programs, professional training, scholarships, and entrance tests alongside practice tests for entrance exams, certifications, and licensing exams.
Wall Street Journal
Full articles from the Wall Street Journal (1981-current).
Small Business Center at VGCC
Small Business Center
"The Small Business Center of the College was created to provide the small businesses of the community with a focal point for training, education, counseling and referral. The Small Business Center addresses the continuing need for updated information, refinement of management skills and the improvement of profit advantage in risk-taking. Special attention is given to the critical areas of capital formation and prevention of business failures."
Business Administration at VGCC
For Business Administration Program Information
Program Head, Business Administration
Need help? Contact the VGCC Library.