VGCC Library Services: Pharmacy Technology: Library Resources

Search Library Resources In Print

Search Items in the VGCC Library

Using the VGCC Library

To find print resources in the VGCC Library, you can search the library catalog (see above) using relevant keywords, such as

pharmacy
pharmacy technician
pharmacology
pharmaceutical
therapeutics
medication
dosage

or use keywords for the specific topics you are looking for.

You can also browse the library shelves by going to the following call number areas:

RS 1-441- Pharmacy
RM 1-950 Therapeutics. Pharmacology
R 5-920 General Medicine
RC 31-1245 Internal Medicine

Videos

More Pharmacy Technology Videos

Pharmacy Technology Programs at VGCC

For more information about the Pharmacy Technology program, contact:

Erica Fleming

Program Head/Instructor

fleminge@vgcc.edu

(252) 738-3482

Library Services

Contact:

Main: (252) 738-3279
South: (252) 738-3510
Franklin: (252) 738-3606
Warren: (252) 738-3686

Pharmacy Resources Online

Search Electronic Resources with Summon®

Advanced Search Journal and Ebook Finder

Pharmacy Databases

Academic OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources, including Nature, The Economist, and The New York Times, in PDF and HTML full-text formats. Also includes access to podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN and videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
General database covering all major academic subjects and offering full text access for over 11,000 publications, with indexing and abstracts for more than 16,000. To learn more about using Academic Search Ultimate, visit the tutorials on the EBSCOhost support page.
Academic Video Online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Wide-ranging collection of over 70,000 streaming videos covering a wide range of subject areas. Types of videos include documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, newsreels, and more. Available films include Oscar, Emmy, and Peabody-winning titles.
Associates Programs Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers key subjects in two-year college settings, including cosmetology, culinary arts, substance abuse counseling, and electrical technology, to name a few. The database includes over 2,000 full-text journals and over 300 full-text ebooks.
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for more than 1,400 journals, some dating back to 1937. CINAHL Complete also includes full text for 275 books and monographs. To learn more about how to search CINAHL Complete, visit the CINAHL tutorials page.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference offers online access to 1,250 reference books covering all major academic disciplines. (If you see an error when trying to access Credo Reference, refresh the page or use a different browser.)
Ebook Central Academic and Public Library Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly ebook titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills.
eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Over 26,000 fiction, reference, scholarly, and professional books online. For tutorials and other help on using EBSCO ebooks on different computers and devices, visit the eBooks on EBSCOhost support page.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.
Health & Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
For students, researchers, and health care professionals, provides up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics with more than 2,500 full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries. (Formerly Gale Health Reference Center Academic)
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
MedLine Plus Drugs & Supplements This link opens in a new window
Guide to prescription and over-the-counter medications, herbs, and supplements. (Internet Resource)
Nursing and Allied Health (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Will help nursing and allied health professionals, as well as students in those fields, who are looking for answers related to the specialized care, treatment, and management of all sorts of patients. (Formerly InfoTrac Nursing & Allied Health Collection)
Nursing Reference Center Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
An evidence-based point-of-care resource specifically for nurses that includes nursing care plans, nurse management and leadership topics, regulator and risk management topics, nursing skills checklists, video demonstrations of nursing practices, patient education handouts, and continuing education credits.
Omnigraphics Health Reference Sourcebooks This link opens in a new window
Straightforward and authoritative ebooks on consumer health topics.
PrepSTEP This link opens in a new window
A suite of test preparation materials covering core academic skills, career preparation, graduate school admissions, and placement testing. Registration is required so that users can track their progress.
ProQuest Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new window
Clinical research plus consumer and health administration titles.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
Journals and dissertations covering nursing, allied health, and alternative and complementary medicine.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive resource containing citations (not full articles) to biomedical articles and life science journals. (Internet Resource)
STAT!Ref This link opens in a new window
Enables users to cross-search full-text titles, journals and evidence-based point-of-care authoritative resources.

Pharmacy Journals

American Journal of Health-System Pharmacy (2002-12 months ago)
Provides current information on the clinical use of new drugs - new thinking on drug therapy with selected diseases & trials evaluating drug effects & possible negative drug reactions.
American Journal of Pharmaceutical Education (1998-present)
Published by the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy and dedicated to document and advance pharmaceutical education.
Drug Topics (1991-present)
Addresses developments that affect pharmacies and offers business, financial, and regulatory information for community pharmacists in stand-alone stores and chain operations.
International Journal of Pharmacy Practice (2001-12 months ago)
Publishes original research and review articles on all aspects of medicines management, policy, practice and education.
Journal of Clinical Pharmacy & Therapeutics (1988-12 months ago)
Concerns the manufacture, quality control, and formulation of medicine, drug information services, pharmacokinetics, radiopharmacy and drug distribution systems.
Journal of Contemporary Pharmacy Practice (2014-present)
Professional publication of the California Association of Pharmacists
Journal of Pharmacy Practice & Research (2008-12 months ago)
Peer-reviewed coverage of various aspects of contemporary pharmacy practice and areas of interest and importance to hospital pharmacists.
U.S. Pharmacist (2006-present)
Journal providing pharmacists with peer-reviewed clinical articles relevant to contemporary pharmacy practice.

Pharmacy Ebooks

These books are available through the VGCC Library online resources. Click on a title to be taken to the full text of the book. If you are off campus, you will be asked to sign in with your myVGCC (WebAdvisor) login and password.

Compounding Sterile Preparations by E. Clyde Buchanan; Philip J. Schneider; Ryan A. Forrey
ISBN: 9781585284849
Publication Date: 2017
Ebook
Dictionary of Pharmaceutical Dosage Forms by Jeffrey T. Solate
ISBN: 9781138065796
Publication Date: 2020
Ebook
Dosage Calculations Made Incredibly Easy!
ISBN: 9781496308375
Publication Date: 2015
Ebook
Drug Delivery by Binghe Wang; Longqin Hu; Teruna J. Siahaan
ISBN: 9781118833230
Publication Date: 2016
Ebook
Essential Statistics for the Pharmaceutical Sciences by Philip Rowe
ISBN: 9781118913383
Publication Date: 2015
Ebook
Hugo and Russell's Pharmaceutical Microbiology
ISBN: 9781444330632
Publication Date: 2011
Ebook
Law and Ethics for Pharmacy Technicians by Jahangir Moini
Call Number: HEALTH KF 2915 .P452 M65 2014
Publication Date: 2013-06-28
In Print at Main Campus
Manual for Pharmacy Technicians by Bonnie S. Bachenheimer
ISBN: 9781585285013
Publication Date: 2019
Ebook
Medical Pharmacology by Michael J. Neal
ISBN: 9781118902400
Publication Date: 2015
Ebook
Pharmaceutical Dosage Forms: Tablets vol. 1
ISBN: 9780849390142
Publication Date: 2008
Ebook
Pharmacy Calculations: An Introduction for Pharmacy Technicians by Matthew Rewald; Bradley Lorang; Garrett Schramm
ISBN: 9781585286386
Publication Date: 2021
Ebook
Pharmacy Technician Certificate Review and Practice Exam by Barbara E. Lacher
ISBN: 9781585284986
Publication Date: 2019
Ebook
Understanding Pharmacology for Pharmacy Technicians by Mary Ann Stuhan
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9781585282296
Publication Date: 2023
Workbook for the Manual for Pharmacy Technicians by Denise M. Frank
ISBN: 9781585286195
Publication Date: 2019-08-30
Ebook