VGCC Library Services: ACA 122: College Transfer Success: Note-Taking, Study &Test-Taking Strategies

Note-Taking Strategies

Note Taking Systems - California State Polytechnic
This page illustrates various note taking strategies.
Cornell Notes
This easy-to-use formula allows students to create custom note taking sheets for use during classes.
Note-Taking from Reading - UNC-Chapel Hill
This video outlines the steps to taking good notes.
Listening & Participation - Dartmouth College
In order to take notes, you first have to listen. Here are tips for listening and participating well in class.
College Student Study Tips - College Grants Database
This resource has time management, note-taking, study tips and much more.

Note-Taking Made Easy by Judi Kesselman-Turkel; Franklynn Peterson
ISBN: 9780299191542
Publication Date: 2003-09-25
Explains two methods of organizing notes--outlining and patterning--and provide shortcuts to rmake note-taking easy. Includes special sections on taking notes from texts and handling charts, graphs, and photos. Available online.
Write On!, Math by Robert K. Gerver; Julianne Gerver
ISBN: 9781641131971
Publication Date: 2018-06-01
Systematically teaches students how to take better notes in math class. Available online.

Avoiding Study Traps - UNC-Chapel Hill
This page lists 10 traps that students fall into when studying and then gives ways to avoid them.
College Student Study Tips - College Grants Database
This resource has time management, note-taking, study tips and much more.
College Study Tips - CollegeAtlas.org
These college study tips cover the principles needed for successful studying. Students are challenged to experiment and see which study tips and ideas work the best for them.
Evidence Based Study Strategies - UNC-Chapel Hill
This video outlines key studying strategies.
Study Guide Zone
"An online study resources directory, including advice on different types of learners, concentration and memorization techniques, critical thinking skills, testing and essay writing."

The Everything Guide to Study Skills by Cynthia Clumeck Muchnick
Call Number: LB 1049 .M83 2011
ISBN: 9781440507441
Publication Date: 2011-07-18
This resource provides the tools you need to develop better study habits, boost your grades, and position yourself for academic success. Available at Main Campus
The Guide to Learning and Study Skills - For Higher Education and at Work by Sue Drew; Rosie Bingham
ISBN: 9780566092336
Publication Date: 2016-04-07
Provides practical guidance on traditional learning skills and direction for students on learning in a blended environment; the increased use of personal planning, work-based learning, and more.
Available online
Studying Tips, Tricks and Hacks by BarCharts, Inc.
ISBN: 9781423234791
Publication Date: 2017-05-01
A six page reference for developing excellent study tactics and habits. Available online.

Test Taking and Test Preparation - CollegeAtlas.org
Guides containing helpful test taking and preparation skills which will teach students how to perform well on any college entrance exams, as well as any college-level tests.
Preparing for an Exam
Find out the best tips for study strategies and habits so that you'll be ready for your exams.
Test Anxiety- UNC-Chapel Hill
Test anxiety is a real thing! If you think you have it, check out this video for tips for how to manage it.
College Student Study Tips - College Grants Database
This resource has time management, note-taking, study tips and much more.

Passing Exams for Dummies® by Patrick Sherratt; Jim Smith
ISBN: 9780730304425
Publication Date: 2013-08-19
Exams can be stressful--but they don't need to be. Learn how to change your mindset, improve how you learn and revise, control your anxiety, and get good grades. Available online.
The Student's Guide to Exam Success by Eileen Tracy
Call Number: LB 3060.57 .T73 2002
ISBN: 9780335207268
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
This resource offers a variety of strategies which will help students how to successfully adopt and develop study strategies for exam success. Available at Main Campus.
Test-Taking Strategies by Judi Kesselman-Turkel; Franklynn Peterson
ISBN: 9780299191948
Publication Date: 2004-03-25
Strategies for taking every kind of test: objective tests (multiple choice, true/false, matching), essay tests, and oral exams. Includes help for handling anxiety, managing test time, and more. Available online.