VGCC Library Services: ENG 111 and 112: Career Exploration & Goal Setting

Career & Goal Exploration

Career information is plentiful on the Web, but you need to make sure that it is from a reliable source. Federal and State governments, as well as many non-profit organizations, have useful and reliable websites. Here are several websites that might be useful when researching different careers.

Career OneStop: Explore Careers
Get national and state-specific statistics about hundreds of jobs over a number of different categories. Information given is often taken from the Occupational Outlook Handbook, but many of the links are to other sources on information. Site is sponsored by U.S. Department of Labor.
College Foundation of North Carolina: Plan for a career
This section of the CFNC website offers ways to explore career options. The "Learn About Yourself" section has different quizzes to help you identify characteristics or interests that can help you choose a career. "Explore Careers" has the usual job information, but can include interviews and other supplementary material.
Films on Demand: Careers & Job Search
List of the Careers & Job Search videos available from Films on Demand.

NCWorks Online This link opens in a new window
A site from the NC Department of Commerce that offers ways to explore careers, find jobs, and see labor statistics.

O*NET OnLine
The Occupational Information Network (O*NET) includes a searchable database of hundreds of jobs. Each entry lists various characteristics of the job, such as tasks performed in the occupation, physical requirements, and other skills needed.
Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH)
This is the career resource to rule them all. Compiled and presented by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, it covers most of the jobs and careers you can think of. Each job entry covers the essential information: work duties, needed education, expected salary, prospects, etc.
Salary.com
Using this site, searchers can find information on job descriptions and salaries.
Employability Skills Resource Toolkit
Teaching modules and instructional materials for teaching employability skills.

VGCC Career & Goal Exploration Resources

Career Coach
An online career planning tool designed for VGCC students that includes career assessments, career and program information, and salary, job, and employer information.
Career Services
The Career Services staff at VGCC is committed to providing our students and graduates with the necessary services, resources, and opportunities to define their personal career goals and prepare for future success in the job market and workplace.
College Central Network
A site where approved employers may post jobs and search resumes. These services are available to VGCC students, alumni and employers.

General Library Databases for Career & Goal Exploration

To view articles from newspapers, magazines, and professional publications, you will need to use the library's online databases. These are paid online resources, not freely available on the Internet, which offer searchable full text access to many print publications. Below are some databases that may be particularly helpful.

If you are off campus, you may need to log in with your myVGCC (WebAdvisor) login and password.

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window
Ferguson’s Career Guidance Center is a comprehensive resource for career exploration and planning that allows users to quickly find the valuable career information they need, whether it’s industry and professions articles, school planning resources, or skills and career advice.
ProQuest Career & Technical Education Database This link opens in a new window
Vocational information on technical topics, such as computing science, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design, and photography.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
General reference database from business and political science to literature and psychology scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and daily news content, accessible to readers and researchers at every level.

Career & Goal Exploration Books

150 Best Jobs for Your Skills by Laurence Shatkin
ISBN: 9781593578985
Publication Date: 2012-02-01
Helps readers identify their best skills and then connect them to the best jobs. Available online. Click title to access.
Book of Majors 2016 by College Board Staff
Call Number: L 901 .C6787 2016
ISBN: 9781457304248
Publication Date: 2015-07-07
Covers over 1,100 college majors in the U.S and shows which colleges and universities offer which majors with which degrees: Associate, Bachelor, Master, and Doctorate. Available at Main Campus. 2013 Edition available at Franklin and South Campuses.
College Blue Book by Gale (Editor)
ISBN: 9780028661865
Publication Date: 2014
2014 edition. Look in the different volumes to read college descriptions by state, see which colleges offer what degrees, find out about financial aid, and other information. Available online. Click title to access.
What's Your Type of Career? by Donna Dunning
ISBN: 9781857885538
Publication Date: 2010-09-16
Using the checklists and exercises in this book, the reader can explore jobs that not only match their interests but also fit their personality types. Available online. Click title to access