VGCC Library Services: WELCOME TO LIBRARY SERVICES @ VGCC: E-Journals

Search Electronic Articles

Advanced Search Journal & Ebook Finder

Magazines & Journal Articles

ABI/INFORM Collection

Business research from journals, trade publications, market research reports, dissertations, and working papers.
Academic OneFile (Gale)
Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources, including Nature, The Economist, and The New York Times, in PDF and HTML full-text formats. Also includes access to podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN and videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO)

General database covering all major academic subjects and offering full text access for over 11,000 publications, with indexing and abstracts for more than 16,000. To learn more about using Academic Search Ultimate, visit the tutorials on the EBSCOhost support page.
Business Source Ultimate (EBSCO)
Peer-reviewed, full-text journals and other resources that provide historical information and current trends in business. Includes 3,500+ full-text journals and magazines covering accounting, administration, banking, economics, finance, human resources, management, and marketing.
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO)

The world's most comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for more than 1,400 journals, some dating back to 1937. CINAHL Complete also includes full text for 275 books and monographs. To learn more about how to search CINAHL Complete, visit the CINAHL tutorials page.
Dogwood Digital Library (Overdrive)
Free online library that lets you borrow ebooks, audiobooks, and magazines anytime, anywhere. Read and listen to books and magazines using the Libby app. Some titles are available to read on Kindle.
General OneFile (Gale)
A large general-interest database with more than 8,000 periodical titles (most in full text and current). Includes magazines, newspapers, and journals, as well as reference and audio content.
Global Issues (Gale in Context)
Offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues. The database ties together a variety of sources to present a rich analysis of issues – social, political, military, economic, environmental, science related, health related, cultural – and headlines in world hot spots. Browse by topic to find videos.
Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO)
Consumer health database with access to health information from a wide variety of consumer health magazines and reference books.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO)

Full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
Literature Resource Center

Articles, critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, and biographies covering authors, their works, and literary movements.
MasterFILE Premier

General reference magazines and publications covering a wide-range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science and multicultural issues. Includes peer reviewed publications.
Military & Government Collection (EBSCO)
Offering current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, Military & Government Collection offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and related content.
ProQuest Central
General reference database for over 175 subjects from magazines, journals and newspapers, including peer-reviewed and scholarly works.
ProQuest Research Library
General reference database from business and political science to literature and psychology scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and daily news content, accessible to readers and researchers at every level.

Newspapers

Canadian Newsstream

Over 300 Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers.
Global Issues (Gale in Context)
Offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues. The database ties together a variety of sources to present a rich analysis of issues – social, political, military, economic, environmental, science related, health related, cultural – and headlines in world hot spots. Browse by topic to find videos.
Historic North Carolina Newspaper Collection

3.5 million pages of digitized content from over 1,000 NC county newspapers.
International Newsstream

International Newsstream provides information from more than 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
NewsBank Access World News

Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with areas of study such as Business, Health, Criminal Justice, Science, Humanities, Political Science and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national and local news sources. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.
Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO)
A full-text digital collection of news content from around the world. Includes newspapers, magazines, newswires, and television and radio transcripts.
New York Times

Full text of the New York Times from June 1, 1980 to the present.
ProQuest US Newsstream
News content from many national and international newspapers, newswires and selected news magazines.
Wall Street Journal
Full articles from the Wall Street Journal (1981-current).

New on Libby: Magazines!

New magazines available now! Read on Libby.

Read magazines on Libby
Download the Libby App