VGCC Library Services: WELCOME TO LIBRARY SERVICES @ VGCC: Videos

Search Electronic Video and Audio

Multidisciplinary Videos

Academic Video Online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Wide-ranging collection of over 70,000 streaming videos covering a wide range of subject areas. Types of videos include documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, newsreels, and more. Available films include Oscar, Emmy, and Peabody-winning titles.
Associated Press Videos from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Important information: To access, look for the Associated Press videos in your search result. To see and search only videos, click "View all" next to "Associated Press Video."
Credo Reference Video Collection This link opens in a new window
Credo's video collection covers topics in health science, food & cooking, fine arts, science & the social sciences, and history. Click on the title you wish to explore, then click on a video title or use the "Search within this title" search box.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.
Films On Demand: Careers & Job Search Video Collection This link opens in a new window
Online portfolios, social networking, webcam interviews, and other new technology have changed the job search process. This collection covers all aspects, from the tried and true to the cutting edge, while also providing overviews of career fields across the spectrum and insights into the necessary skills for success on the job.
Films on Demand: Just for Kids This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection which provides a thoroughly kid-safe, advertisement-free media platform. Includes the educational videos children want to watch—Sesame Street, The Electric Company, The Wubbulous World of Dr. Seuss, The Berenstain Bears, Franklin, and thousands more.
Gale Videos This link opens in a new window
Links to news and documentary videos covering a wide variety of subjects and locations. Video sources include the New York Times, PBS, AFP news service, BBC News, and the Washington Post. Click the "Search Within" box under "Filter Your Results" to search for specific videos.
NC LIVE Video Collection (via Films on Demand) This link opens in a new window
A wide-ranging collection of online videos, including PBS documentaries, NC history videos, and films from the state Archives. Now hosted in Films on Demand.
O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
O’Reilly for Higher Education includes more than 38,000 book titles and more than 30,000 hours of video on topics ranging from programming to IT networking to project management to graphic design to business strategy. Available content includes code snippets, certification preparation materials, practice exercises, training videos, and much more.

Arts & Sciences Videos

Art & Architecture Videos (Films on Demand) This link opens in a new window
Videos covering the visual arts, architecture, art history and art appreciation.
Associated Press Videos from EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Important information: To access, look for the Associated Press videos in your search result. To see and search only videos, click "View all" next to "Associated Press Video."
Biology Videos (Films on Demand) This link opens in a new window
Videos that cover human anatomy, ecology, and all areas of the biological sciences.
Credo Reference Video Collection This link opens in a new window
Credo's video collection covers topics in health science, food & cooking, fine arts, science & the social sciences, and history. Click on the title you wish to explore, then click on a video title or use the "Search within this title" search box.
Earth Science Videos (Films on Demand) This link opens in a new window
Videos that relate to geology, oceanography, meteorology, climatology, and other areas of earth science.
Education Videos (Films on Demand) This link opens in a new window
Videos that cover educational foundations, curriculum and instruction, educational psychology, and special education.
English Videos (Films on Demand) This link opens in a new window
Videos that cover language, literature, grammar, drama, speech, and communication.
Environmental Science Videos (Films on Demand) This link opens in a new window
Videos that explore topics in environmental science.
Family & Consumer Sciences Videos (Films on Demand) This link opens in a new window
Includes videos that cover child care, child development, parenting and life skills.
History Videos (Films on Demand) This link opens in a new window
Videos detail events from American and World History and biographies of important historical figures.
Literary Collections from Britannica (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Videos from the 1960's to the 1980's from Encyclopedia Britannica. Important: .To search videos go to "More" at the top of the page, then click on "Video."
Mathematics Videos (Films on Demand) This link opens in a new window
Videos covering topics in math and statistics. Includes demonstration videos.
Music & Dance Videos (Films on Demand) This link opens in a new window
Videos that explore traditional, classical and modern performing arts, as well as music history and appreciation.
NC LIVE Video Collection (via Films on Demand) This link opens in a new window
A wide-ranging collection of online videos, including PBS documentaries, NC history videos, and films from the state Archives. Now hosted in Films on Demand.
Philosophy & Religion Videos (Films on Demand) This link opens in a new window
Videos that cover topics in world religions, spirituality, and philosophy.
Physical Science Videos (Films on Demand) This link opens in a new window
Videos dealing with subjects in physics, chemistry, and astronomy.
Political Science Videos (Films on Demand) This link opens in a new window
Videos that explore topics in American and world politics.
ProQuest Research Companion This link opens in a new window
An award-winning, cloud-based information literacy solution that enables educators and librarians to guide students through research projects efficiently.
Psychology Videos (Films on Demand) This link opens in a new window
Videos exploring topics in all areas of psychology.
Sociology Videos (Films on Demand) This link opens in a new window
Videos that illuminate the study of social and ethnic groups, social problems, women's and gender issues, and other areas of the social sciences.
Spanish Videos (Films on Demand) This link opens in a new window
Videos that cover Spanish and Latin American language, history, and culture, with many videos in Spanish with English subtitles.

Business & Applied Technologies Videos

Business & Economics Videos (Films on Demand) This link opens in a new window
Videos covering business, accounting, economics, finance, management, and marketing.
Business & Entrepreneurship Videos (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Lecture videos from the Harvard Faculty Seminar Series (FSS) and interviews with entrepreneurs. Important: to view videos go to "More" at the top of the page, then "Videos," and select the desired video collection.
Credo Reference: Food, Drink, & Nutrition Videos This link opens in a new window
Videos covering food preparation techniques and plants, including those used for food. Click on the title you want to explore, then click on a video title or use the "Search within this title" search box.
Criminal Justice & Law Videos (Films on Demand) This link opens in a new window
Videos that cover issues in criminal justice, law, corrections, and law enforcement.
Culinary Arts Videos (Films on Demand) This link opens in a new window
Videos that explore and demonstrate topics in food preparation, safety, science, and services, as well as diet and nutrition.
O'Reilly for Higher Education Videos This link opens in a new window
Includes over 2,000 videos from the O'Reilly databases which covers computer science, technology, and business.
ProQuest Research Companion This link opens in a new window
An award-winning, cloud-based information literacy solution that enables educators and librarians to guide students through research projects efficiently.
Technology & Society Videos (Films on Demand) This link opens in a new window
Videos that explore topics related to technology use, development, and careers.

Health Sciences Videos

Biology Videos (Films on Demand) This link opens in a new window
Videos that cover human anatomy, ecology, and all areas of the biological sciences.
Credo Reference: Health & Medicine Videos This link opens in a new window
Health reference titles that include video content. Select the title you want to view, then click the "Videos" tab to browse all available videos.
Films On Demand: Guidance & Counseling Video Collection This link opens in a new window
With clips from actual counseling sessions with patients, videos featuring the founders of narrative therapy and other counseling approaches, and titles on the theory and practice of social work, this collection will give students in counseling and social work the grounding they need to help the people they will work with every day.
Films on Demand: Nursing Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed to help nursing students excel in their studies, pass licensure exams, and prepare for long-term job success, the FOD Nursing Core Collection covers nursing skills; patient care and interventions; nursing foundations; diseases disorders, and disabilities; and special nursing topics.
Films On Demand: Nursing Current Concepts and Practices Collection This link opens in a new window
A tightly curated collection to help nursing students excel in their studies, pass licensure exams, and prepare for long-term job success. Videos have copyrights only within the past five years and are from trusted producers
Health & Medicine Videos (Films on Demand) This link opens in a new window
Educational videos covering medical conditions, health care advances, allied health careers, and many other topics in health and medicine.
ProQuest Research Companion This link opens in a new window
An award-winning, cloud-based information literacy solution that enables educators and librarians to guide students through research projects efficiently.
Video Training Programs: ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
A series of health care training videos from Medcom. Dates range from 1993 to 2015.

Continuing Education Videos

Credo Reference: Health & Medicine Videos This link opens in a new window
Health reference titles that include video content. Select the title you want to view, then click the "Videos" tab to browse all available videos.
Family & Consumer Sciences Videos (Films on Demand) This link opens in a new window
Includes videos that cover child care, child development, parenting and life skills.
Films on Demand: Nursing Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed to help nursing students excel in their studies, pass licensure exams, and prepare for long-term job success, the FOD Nursing Core Collection covers nursing skills; patient care and interventions; nursing foundations; diseases disorders, and disabilities; and special nursing topics.
Films On Demand: Nursing Current Concepts and Practices Collection This link opens in a new window
A tightly curated collection to help nursing students excel in their studies, pass licensure exams, and prepare for long-term job success. Videos have copyrights only within the past five years and are from trusted producers
Films On Demand: Technical & Trade Education Video Collection This link opens in a new window
The hundreds of titles in this collection will help prepare students interested in vocational trades, including construction, cosmetology, communication, agriculture, applied engineering, and more.
Health & Medicine Videos (Films on Demand) This link opens in a new window
Educational videos covering medical conditions, health care advances, allied health careers, and many other topics in health and medicine.
ProQuest Research Companion This link opens in a new window
An award-winning, cloud-based information literacy solution that enables educators and librarians to guide students through research projects efficiently.
Video Training Programs: ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
A series of health care training videos from Medcom. Dates range from 1993 to 2015.

Academic Skills Videos

Education Videos (Films on Demand) This link opens in a new window
Videos that cover educational foundations, curriculum and instruction, educational psychology, and special education.
English Videos (Films on Demand) This link opens in a new window
Videos that cover language, literature, grammar, drama, speech, and communication.
Family & Consumer Sciences Videos (Films on Demand) This link opens in a new window
Includes videos that cover child care, child development, parenting and life skills.
Guidance & Counseling Videos (Films on Demand) This link opens in a new window
Videos that explore family relationships, mental health, addiction, personal growth, and academic success.
Mathematics Videos (Films on Demand) This link opens in a new window
Videos covering topics in math and statistics. Includes demonstration videos.

DVDs at the VGCC Library

Student DVDs

Student Videos can be checked out by anyone with a valid VGCC library card. Student and community patrons may check out 2 DVDs at one time.

Staff DVDs

Staff Videos are available for checkout to VGCC faculty and staff. All others may view them in the VGCC Library.

To search for physical DVDs in the VGCC Libraries, use the online catalog search box and use the Format drop down menu to select DVD.

Videos by Subject

Business & Applied Technologies

Films on Demand App

Films on Demand has an app for Apple and Android mobile devices. The app can be downloaded from the Apple Store or Google Play, depending on your device. For more information, please see the following links: