VGCC Library Services: Art & Art History: Home

Search Library Resources In Print

Search Items in the VGCC Library

Using the VGCC Library

To find print resources in the VGCC Library, you can search the library catalog (see above) using relevant keywords, such as

fine arts
visual art
art history
painting
design
impressionist
post modernism

or use keywords for the specific artists, styles, media, techniques, etc. you are looking for.

You can also browse the library shelves by going to the following call number areas:

N - Fine Arts
PN 6700-6790- Comic books, comic strips, graphic novels
EASY PZ 5-8- Children's picture books

General Art Reference

The Everything Art Handbook by Walter Foster Creative Team
ISBN: 9781633221727

Publication Date: 2016-09-01

Search Library Resources Online

Search Electronic Resources with Summon®

Advanced Search Journal and Ebook Finder

Visual Art Library Resources Online

Art & Architecture Complete (EBSCO)
Includes full-text coverage for hundreds of periodicals dating back to 1937 and additional full-text for hundreds of books.
Art & Architecture Videos (Films on Demand)
Videos covering the visual arts, architecture, art history and art appreciation.
Credo Reference

Credo Reference offers online access to 1,250 reference books covering all major academic disciplines. (If you see an error when trying to access Credo Reference, refresh the page or use a different browser.)
Ebook Central Academic and Public Library Complete

Scholarly ebook titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills.
Films on Demand

Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.
Fine Arts (Gale OneFile)
Places over 10 million articles at the fingertips of students of drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. More than 250 journals are available in full text. (Formerly InfoTrac Fine Arts & Music Collection)
Gale Ebooks
Searchable collection of online reference titles.
Pop Culture Studies (Gale OneFile)
Access scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. The database offers useful information for researchers in social science, history, art or liberal arts courses.(Formerly InfoTrac Pop Culture Collection)
ProQuest Arts & Humanities Database
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.

Visual Art Resources on the Web

Vincent Van Gogh, Roses. (1890, Oil Painting, National Gallery of Art)

Art Curious Podcast
Weird, funny, mysterious stories from art history.
Artcyclopedia
A search engine for artists, artworks, and art museums.
Directory of Illustration
Search for and see examples of work from current artists. Search by name, subjects, and artistic techniques.
Google Arts & Culture
Search or browse a huge artwork collection by location, artist, medium, etc. Works, some viewable in the ultra-detailed Gigapixel format, are from museum collections around the world.
The Lonely Palette Podcast
Each episode focuses on one painting and explores the content, context and place in art history.
Wikimedia Commons
A collection of more than 50 million freely usable media files to which anyone can contribute. Works are under Creative Commons licensing or in the public domain.