VGCC Library Services: PSY 150: General Psychology: Library Resources

Psychology Reference Online

Online reference items are available 24/7 through the VGCC Library Website. Off-campus users need to log in with their myVGCC (WebAdvisor) login and password. To see more ebooks, use the Electronic Resources Search.

50 Psychology Classics by Tom Butler-Bowdon
ISBN: 9781857886740

Publication Date: 2017

Summarizes and examines texts important to the development of the field of psychology.
Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science by W. Edward Craighead; Charles B. Nemeroff (Editor)
ISBN: 9780471220367

Publication Date: 2004

Provides comprehensive coverage of all aspects of psychology.
Curriculum Connections Psychology by Helen Dwyer (Editor)
Publication Date: 2011

Reference series exploring different aspects of psychology, including history, cognitive development, and the brain, among other topics.
Elsevier's Dictionary of Psychological Theories by J. Roeckelein (Editor)
ISBN: 9780080460642

Publication Date: 2006

A Dictionary of terms covering the origination, development, and evolution of various psychological concepts.
Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology, vol. 1
ISBN: 9781414412047

Publication Date: 2016

Covers the entire spectrum of psychology, including: notable people, theories and terms; landmark case studies and experiments; applications of psychology in advertising, medicine and sports; and career information.
Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology, vol. 2
ISBN: 9781414412047

Publication Date: 2016

Covers the entire spectrum of psychology, including: notable people, theories and terms; landmark case studies and experiments; applications of psychology in advertising, medicine and sports; and career information.
Psychology Book by Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff
ISBN: 9781465458568

Publication Date: 2017

Clearly explaining more than 100 ideas in the field, this reference explains the complex theoretical and experimental foundations of psychology.
Salem Health Psychology & Mental Health by Nancy A. Piotrowski; Paul Moglia (General Editor)
Call Number: REF BF 636 .S25 2010

ISBN: 9781587655562

Publication Date: 2010

Available at Main. Also available online via Salem Press eBooks.

Psychology Reference in Print

Print reference items are available for in-library use. To find more psychology resources in print, use the Library's online catalog.

APA Dictionary of Psychology by Gary R. VandenBos; American Psychological Association Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: REF BF 31 .A65 2015

ISBN: 9781433819445

Publication Date: 2015

Definitions of the terms and topics in the field of psychology from the American Psychological Association (APA). Available at Main.
DSM-5: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders by American Psychiatric Association Staff
Call Number: RC 455.2 .C4 D536 2013

ISBN: 9780890425541

Publication Date: 2013

The standard reference for clinical practice in the mental health field. Copies available at Main & South.
The SAGE Handbook of Social Psychology by Michael A. Hogg (Editor); Joel M. Cooper (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412945356

Publication Date: 2007

A comprehensive & definitive resource for students and researchers in social psychology and related disciplines. Available at South.

Psychology Videos

This is not an exhaustive list of all available videos on psychology. For more resources, search the library's physical and online resources via our Search Page.

Core Concepts in Psychology (Series)
This informative and useful 7-part series will answer questions on a variety of important aspects that students find challenging when studying Psychology.
Discovering Psychology: Updated Edition (Series)
Highlighting major developments in the field of psychology, this classic 26-episode series surveys the major areas of psychology, explains the scientific method of gathering and evaluating evidence about the causes of behavior, and shows how psychological knowledge can be applied to improve the quality of life.
History of Psychology (Series)
This three-part series looks at the history of psychology from ancient influences to the modern times. It looks at philosophers from different parts of the world who influenced thought on the human condition and human motivation; examines the work of Freud, Jung, and the other psychoanalysts; and considers the contributions of modern psychologists in the development of behavioral psychology, cognitive psychology, gestalt psychology, and humanistic psychology.

Psychology Publications Online

This is a selection of publications available through the VGCC Library's online databases. To see more, try browsing or searching the Journal and Ebook Finder.

American Journal of Psychology
Journal dealing with experimental psychology and basic principles of psychology.
Basic & Applied Social Psychology (1980-18 months ago)
Covers basic research in social psychology that can be applied to real world problems as well as direct applications of social psychological theory to social problems.
Cognition & Emotion (1998-18 months ago)
Devoted to the study of emotion, especially those aspects of emotion that are related to mental processes.
Current Psychology (1997-1 year ago)
Coverage includes significant empirical contributions from all major areas of psychology: social psychology; small groups and personality; human development; sensation, perception, and cognition; clinical and abnormal psychology; and methodology and field research.
Journal of Happiness Studies (2000-1 year ago)
Covers both cognitive evaluations of life & affective enjoyment of life.
Journal of Personality (1945-1 year ago)
Articles on experimental studies of personality and behavior dynamics, personality development, and individual differences in the cognitive, affective and interpersonal domains.
Journal of Social & Clinical Psychology (2003-present)
Promotes communication & scholarship at the interface of social & clinical psychology. Features reports of clinical & empirical research on various topics.
Journal of Social Psychology (1975-18 months ago)
Articles on experimental, empirical and field studies of groups, cultural effects, cross-national problems, language and ethnicity, cross-cultural notes and briefly reported replications and refinements.
Journal of Youth & Adolescence (2008-1 year ago)
Papers based on experimental evidence and data, theoretical papers, comprehensive review articles and clinical reports aimed at psychiatrists, psychologists, biologists, sociologists, educators and other professionals working with youth and adolescents.
Memory (1996-18 months ago)
Dedicated to the study of human memory. Aims to provide an outlet for research in human memory representing the full range of current influential approaches.
Motivation & Emotion (1997-1 year ago)
Theoretical papers and original research reports of either a basic or applied nature from any area of psychology and behavioral science, with a focus on motivation and/or emotion.
Psychology & Health (1999-18 months ago)
Promotes the study & application of psychological approaches to health & illness.
Psychology Today (1992-present)
Presents scientifically accurate psychological information for the layperson. Includes book reviews and editorials.
Self & Identity (2002-18 months ago)
Devoted to the study of social & psychological processes that involve the human capacity for self-awareness, self-representation & self-regulation.
Journal of General Psychology (1975-18 months ago)
Articles on experimental, physiological and comparative psychology, including human and animal studies and mathematical and other theoretical investigations.

Psychology Databases

The following databases are all useful for students studying psychology. To search multiple databases at once, you can search our electronic resources with Summon.

Academic OneFile (Gale)
Provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources, including Nature, The Economist, and The New York Times, in PDF and HTML full-text formats. Also includes access to podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN and videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO)
General database covering all major academic subjects and offering full text access for over 11,000 publications, with indexing and abstracts for more than 16,000. To learn more about using Academic Search Ultimate, visit the tutorials on the EBSCOhost support page.
Credo Reference
Credo Reference offers online access to 1,250 reference books covering all major academic disciplines, and includes the Sage Psychology Collection.
Ebook Central Academic and Public Library Complete
Scholarly ebook titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills.
eBooks on EBSCOhost
Over 26,000 fiction, reference, scholarly, and professional books online. For tutorials and other help on using EBSCO ebooks on different computers and devices, visit the eBooks on EBSCOhost support page.
Films on Demand
Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.
National Institute of Mental Health
Symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment of various mental illnesses. Includes brochures, information sheets, reports, press releases, and fact sheets. (Internet Resource)
ProQuest Psychology Database
Clinical and social psychology articles on topics such as genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more.
ProQuest Sociology Database
Sociological and social work research including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction, and more.
Psychology (Gale OneFile)
Provides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind. Offers content of interest to students, researchers and general users. (Formerly InfoTrac Psychology Collection)
Social Work Reference Center (EBSCO)
Information resource for social workers and mental health professionals. Covers a wide array of topics such as social problems, adolescent health, aging, end-of-life care, clinical social work, and diversity.
Taylor & Francis eBooks
Full-text academic ebooks on multiple subject areas. View in a web browser or download the PDF.
Important! Make sure the "Show content I have access to" box is checked when searching. This ensures you are searching only full-text titles.