Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Books for Fire & Rescue
Take Note: The online materials listed here are not an exhaustive list of the available resources for the Fire & Rescue programs. If looking for other materials, please consult the ebook databases or meet with one of VGCC's librarians.
Career As a Firefighter
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
"There are several basic skills in firefighting: prevention, preserving oneself, rescue, preserving property, and fire control. A secondary set of important skills includes sizing up the fire, extinguishing it, ventilation of the site, and salvage and overhaul. All the orders you are given during an emergency situation will use one or more of these skills."
Failure Point by
Publication Date: 2012-09-13
"The book contains a wealth of useful information, including discussions about:
* key elements that warn of imminent fire-induced collapse
* how to prevent injuries to operating personnel
* adapting risk/benefit techniques to manage firefighting personnel on the fireground
* how building codes affect fire-induced building collapses
* and much more!
Failure Point is an important resource for chief officers, company officers, firefighters, and code officials. It meets Fire and Emergency Services Higher Education (FESHE) requirements for the Building Construction for Fire Protection course."
Fireground Operational Guides by
Publication Date: 2011-08-25
"Designed to serve many purposes in the fire service, ranging from being a starting point and refresher guide for firefighters seeking promotions at any level, to being a field operational guide for on-scene Incident Commanders and Company Officers. It offers an easy-to-follow, step-by-step action plan for firefighters working in Acting Capacities, and can be used when developing SOP’s, and when organizing and planning training."
Legal Considerations for Fire and Emergency Services by
Publication Date: 2014-09-05
"Examines the most challenging legal issues confronting firefighters and emergency service personnel today. Readers will explore such major legal concerns as fire service liability issues, the jurisdiction of OSHA over fire departments, the applicability of the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act, search and seizure, employment discrimination, residency requirements, sexual harassment, and more. In addition, also covers EMS law addressing consent, capacity, standard of care, medical confidentiality, and HIPAA."
Residential Fire Rescue by
Publication Date: 2014-03-25
"Residential Fire Rescue covers the theory of search and rescue, practical application of search and rescue, and company training. The book includes sample lesson plans that can be customized for various skills (including VES, drags and removals); step-by-step instructions combined with photos to show the various rescue techniques and positions; and, a DVD to aid the instruction of techniques."
Suburban Fire Tactics by
Publication Date: 2013-04-03
"A guide for suburban-based fire operations. All fire departments share the same common objectives: to save lives, protect and conserve property, and limit harm to the environment. How urban, rural, and suburban agencies differ is in the delivery of tactics and strategies. This book explains the factors that limit suburban operations and depicts the differences between urban and suburban capabilities."
Websites & Associations
National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST): Fire
NIST's fire research develops, verifies and utilizes measurements and predictive methods to quantify the behavior of fire and means to reduce the impact of fire on people, property and the environment.
"FireScience.org will help you determine whether a career in fire science is right for you, which of the many fire science or public service career paths to pursue, and what kind of training you’ll need to be successful. We also help you sort through the many training and education options to find ones that that best fit your needs."
"The NVFC launched the Heart-Healthy Firefighter Program in 2003 to reduce the number of firefighter and EMS deaths from heart attack. It is the nation's only heart attack awareness and prevention program targeted at all firefighters and EMS personnel, both volunteer and career."
"The complete resource for fire services, fire insurers, law enforcement and others whose duties involve arson investigation, fire investigation safety and fire scene training."
International Association of Firefighters
"The IAFF is the driving force behind nearly every advance in the fire and emergency services in the 21st century."
National Fire Protection Association (NFPA)
NFPA is a global, nonprofit organization devoted to eliminating death, injury, property and economic loss due to fire, electrical and related hazards. The association delivers information and knowledge through more than 300 consensus codes and standards, research, training, education, outreach and advocacy; and by partnering with others who share an interest in furthering the NFPA mission.
NFPA's Firewise Communities
"Encourages local solutions for safety by involving homeowners in taking individual responsibility for preparing their homes from the risk of wildfire. Firewise is a key component of Fire Adapted Communities – a collaborative approach that connects all those who play a role in wildfire education, planning and action with comprehensive resources to help reduce risk."
Office of State Fire Marshall - North Carolina
OSFM is comprised of the following six divisions: Engineering and Codes; Manufactured Building; Risk Management; Fire and Rescue Training and Inspections; Fire and Rescue Commission; and Programs, Prevention and Grants.
OSFM staffers handle a wide variety of important tasks, many of which directly impact the life safety of North Carolina citizens.
The International Association for Fire Safety Science
IAFSS was founded with the primary objective of encouraging research into the science of preventing and mitigating the adverse effects of fires and of providing a forum for presenting the results of such research.
U.S. Fire Administration
As an entity of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency, the mission of the U.S. Fire Administration is to provide national leadership to foster a solid foundation for our fire and emergency services stakeholders in prevention, preparedness and response.
Career Information Websites
Occupational Outlook Handbook (OOH) - Protective Service Occupations
A list of protective service occupations, such as correctional officers, from the Occupational Outlook Handbook from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. Clicking upon the link for an occupation will provide a job description and other information, such as median pay and how to enter the occupation.
Need help? Contact the VGCC Library.