VGCC Library Services: Welding Technology: Home

Welding Databases

Associates Programs Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers key subjects in two-year college settings, including cosmetology, culinary arts, substance abuse counseling, and electrical technology, to name a few. The database includes over 2,000 full-text journals and over 300 full-text ebooks.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference offers online access to 1,250 reference books covering all major academic disciplines. (If you see an error when trying to access Credo Reference, refresh the page or use a different browser.)
Ebook Central Academic and Public Library Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly ebook titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.
ProQuest Career & Technical Education Database This link opens in a new window
Vocational information on technical topics, such as computing science, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design, and photography.
ProQuest Science Database This link opens in a new window
Applied and general science articles covering topics such as global warming, alternative energy sources, robotic engineering, genetically modified food, and more.
Vocations and Careers (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Access journals and magazines that aid users in researching a vocation, finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career. The database offers hundreds of current and applicable periodicals, from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals. (Formerly InfoTrac Vocations/Careers & Technical Education Collection)

Related Periodicals

Science & Technology of Welding & Joining (2003-1 year ago)
Concerned with both the basic science and applied technology of welding and joining.
Soldering & Surface Mount Technology (1996-1 year ago)
Peer-reviewed periodical for those with a research and application interest in all branches of soldering and surface mount technologies.
The Welder
Formerly known as Practical Welding Today, this trade magazine showcases thel people who make the products we use and work with every day, providing hands-on information, real-world applications, and down-to-earth advice for welders.
Welding & Cutting (2010-present)
Covers welding, cutting and soldering technology and related fields.
Welding Design & Fabrication (Online) (2010-present)
Strives to be the leading independent resource for the welding and fabrication communities.
Welding International
Provides comprehensive English translations of complete articles, selected from major international welding journals.

Welding Technology : Print Materials

Take Note: The print materials listed here are not an exhaustive list of the available library resources for WeldingTechnology. If looking for other materials, please consult the library catalog or meet with one of VGCC's librarians.

Art of Sculpture Welding by Kristi Richardson McCoy
Call Number: NB 1220 .M336 2015
ISBN: 9780831135164
Publication Date: 2015-03-15
Covers the processes of creating 13 projects for all personalities, skill levels and interests.
Blueprint Reading for Welders by A. E. Bennett; Louis J. Siy
Call Number: T 379 .B38 2014
ISBN: 9781133605782
Publication Date: 2014-02-14
Step-by-step instructions and detailed illustrations to teach the welder to interpret different working documents, from simple sketches to the complex blueprints.
Brazing and Soldering by Richard Lofting
Call Number: TT 267 .L64 2014
ISBN: 9781847978363
Publication Date: 2015-04-01
A practical guide that introduces readers to the brazing and soldering, and shows how to enhance these skills safely and effectively. Includes photos.
Gas Metal Arc Welding Handbook by William H. Minnick
Call Number: TK 4660 .M528 2008
ISBN: 9781590708668
Publication Date: 2007-11-05
Covers basic skills and advanced techniques of gas metal arc welding (GMAW), with clear information and illustrations.
Gas Tungsten Arc Welding Handbook by William H. Minnick; Mark A. Prosser
Call Number: TK 4660 .M53 2013
ISBN: 9781605257938
Publication Date: 2012-06-18
Uses color illustrations understandable instructions to explain the gas tungsten arc welding process and teach the proper procedures for welding a variety of base metals.
Welding by Don Geary; Rex Miller
Call Number: TS 228 .G425 2011
ISBN: 9780071763875
Publication Date: 2011-04-18
A hands-on beginners guide and expert reference on oxyacetylene welding and cutting, soldering, and basic metal properties. Includes information on workshop setup, welding equipment handling, design, and safety.
Welding Print Reading by John R. Walker; W. Richard Polanin
Call Number: T 379 .W28 2013
ISBN: 9781605259116
Publication Date: 2012-04-27
Teaches students to read and comprehend the various types of prints found in the welding industry. Also covers math and measurement, welding processes, types of welds and joints, and welding symbols
Welding Processes Handbook by Klas Weman
Call Number: TS 227 .W45 2012
ISBN: 9780857095107
Publication Date: 2011-11-08
Concise, authoritative and practical introduction to welding and its applications for both students and engineers.
The TAB Guide to DIY Welding by Jackson Morley
Call Number: TK 4660 .M67 2013
ISBN: 9780071799683
Publication Date: 2013-05-07
Introduces MIG welding and metalworking with illustrated step-by-step instructions for making useful objects and fun artistic projects. Takes you through setting up a metalworking studio, finding local resources for materials, and the safe operation of metal studio tools.
Farm and Workshop Welding by Andrew Pearce
Call Number: TS 227 .P3935 2012
ISBN: 9781565237414
Publication Date: 2012-09-01
A practical handbook for welding in the farm, home workshop, school workshop, blacksmith shop or auto shop. Also available online.
Welding Licensing Exam Study Guide by Rex Miller; Mark R. Miller
Call Number: TS 227.55 .M55 2007
ISBN: 9780071493765
Publication Date: 2007-06-07
Study guide for the Welding Code Book and Fundamentals exams. The book covers calculations and troubleshooting tips to help pass the certification tests.
Metalworking by Paul N. Hasluck (Editor); Roger Moorhouse
Call Number: TT 205 .H23 2011
ISBN: 9781616081850
Publication Date: 2011-02-28
A comprehensive guidebook to the tools, materials, and processes fundamental to the art of metalworking. Includes information on working sheet metals, gold, and silver; building a dynamo and electric motor; making a vertical steam engine, and more.