Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The video below is an example of the online videos that can be found using the database, Films on Demand.
Online Books for Office & Medical Office Adminstration
Take Note: The online materials listed here are not an exhaustive list of the available resources for the Office & Medical Office Administration programs. If looking for other materials, please consult the ebook databases or meet with one of VGCC's librarians.
Administrative Assistant's and Secretary's Handbook by
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
"Between coordinating meetings, making travel arrangements, and running the phone lines, being a professional administrative assistant requires an astonishing and varied range of skills involving interpersonal communication, written presentations, and organizational ability. Written in a down-to-earth style, Administrative Assistant’s and Secretary’s Handbook provides readers with information on subjects including record keeping, telephone usage, office machines, mail, business letters, and computer software skills."
CPT Handbook for Office Based Coding by
Publication Date: 2009-12-01
"The updated second edition provides physicians and their staffs with a reference tool full of coding and Medicare policy information, which will enable them to accurately report codes, plus reduce claim denials."
Financial Management of Health Care Organizations by
Publication Date: 2009-09-15
"Offers an introduction to the most-used tools and techniques of health care financial management. Comprehensive in scope, the book covers a broad range of topics that include an overview of the health care system and evolving reimbursement methodologies; health care accounting and financial statements; managing cash, billings, and collections; the time value of money and analyzing and financing major capital investments; determining cost and using cost information in decision-making; budgeting and performance measurement; and pricing."
Fundamentals of Coding, Payment, and Documentation by
Publication Date: 2011-09-01
"This new resource was designed for non-coders such as doctors, physician's assistants, nurses, office staff and those seeking a new career in medical coding. This book is not an introduction on how to code, but provides a foundation for understanding important aspects of coding, reimbursement and documentation. Use this publication to understand information on HIPAA, fraud and abuse, and physician-vendor relationships and how these relate to coding, payment and documentation."
Medical Billing and Coding for Dummies by
Publication Date: 2012-06-07
"Medical Billing & Coding For Dummies gives you everything you need to know to get started in medical billing and coding. It gives you practical, easy-to-follow coverage and advice on how to find a course, educational topics you should review and pursue in order to stay competitive in the field, and the laws and other regulations you'll encounter in your work."
Office & Medical Office Administration Websites
American Association of Healthcare Administrative Management (AAHAM)
"The American Association of Healthcare Administrative Management (AAHAM) is the premier professional organization in healthcare administrative management. Your one-stop resource center for information, education and advocacy in the areas of reimbursement, admitting and registration, data management, medical records, patient relations and so much more."
American Society of Administrative Professionals (AHCAP)
"The American Society of Administrative Professionals (www.asaporg.com) was established in 2005 to provide year-round online professional development, training, and resources to address the changing roles and demanding responsibilities of Administrative Professionals and Executive Assistants."
Association for Healthcare Administrative Professionals
"The Association for Healthcare Administrative Professionals is the premier organization for healthcare professionals dedicated to those who support our nation's top healthcare leaders."
"More than 20,000 terms and definitions covering many areas, including accounting, banking, business, computer and internet, finance and investment, insurance, marketing and real estate."
Microsoft Office Training Center
Includes training and tutorials for all Microsoft Office applications.
The International Association of Administrative Professionals
The International Association of Administrative Professionals (IAAP) is a 501 (c)(6) registered not-for-profit professional association for administrative professionals. IAAP strives to ensure individuals working in office and administrative professions have the opportunity to connect, learn, lead, and excel.
Career Information Websites
Need help? Contact the VGCC Library.