VGCC Library Services: Office & Medical Office Administration: Home

Search Library Resources In Print

Search Items in the VGCC Library

Using the VGCC Library

To find print resources in the VGCC Library, you can search the library catalog (see above) using relevant keywords, such as

office administration
administrative professional
executive assistant
medical coding
medical records
records management
business communication
office technology

or use keywords for the specific topics you are looking for.

You can also browse the library shelves by going to the following call number areas:

HF 5500-5800: office procedures, management, finance, technology, communication
R 700-900: medical office procedures, ethics, records
RA 410, RB 115: medical insurance, coding, and billing

Selected Reference Books

Administrative Assistant's and Secretary's Handbook by James Stroman; Kevin Wilson; Jennifer Wauson
ISBN: 9780814433522
Publication Date: 2014-07-09
AMA Handbook of Business Writing by Kevin Wilson; Jennifer Wauson
ISBN: 9780814415894
Publication Date: 2010-08-04
Encyclopedia of Medical Terminology by Shahriar Abbassi (Editor)
ISBN: 9781536167979
Publication Date: 2020-02-03
Medical Coding by Shelley C. Safian
ISBN: 9781423236535
Publication Date: 2017-11-01
The Medical Staff Office Manual by Marna Sorensen
ISBN: 9781556454813
Publication Date: 2015-08-28
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary by Donald Venes
ISBN: 9781719642859
Publication Date: 2021-02-17
A Thesaurus of Medical Word Roots by Horace Gerald Danner
ISBN: 9780810891548
Publication Date: 2013-08-15

Videos

Coding and Documentation Specialist, ProHealth
Wendy is a Medical Coding Specialist and a Clinical Documentation Improvement Specialist with the health information company, Pro Health.
Confidentiality: HIPAA Regulations (2020 edition)
Concentrates on the section of HIPAA that focuses on the security and privacy of protected health information and the national standards for its transfer.
Office Work, 1964
Short video of general office work in the 1960's

Search Online Articles and Ebooks

Search Electronic Resources

Office & Medical Office Administration Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Business research from journals, trade publications, market research reports, dissertations, and working papers.
Academic Video Online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Wide-ranging collection of over 70,000 streaming videos covering a wide range of subject areas. Types of videos include documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, newsreels, and more. Available films include Oscar, Emmy, and Peabody-winning titles.
Associates Programs Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers key subjects in two-year college settings, including cosmetology, culinary arts, substance abuse counseling, and electrical technology, to name a few. The database includes over 2,000 full-text journals and over 300 full-text ebooks.
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for more than 1,400 journals, some dating back to 1937. CINAHL Complete also includes full text for 275 books and monographs. To learn more about how to search CINAHL Complete, visit the CINAHL tutorials page.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference offers online access to 1,250 reference books covering all major academic disciplines. (If you see an error when trying to access Credo Reference, refresh the page or use a different browser.)
Ebook Central Academic and Public Library Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly ebook titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills.
eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Over 26,000 fiction, reference, scholarly, and professional books online. For tutorials and other help on using EBSCO ebooks on different computers and devices, visit the eBooks on EBSCOhost support page.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.
Health & Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
For students, researchers, and health care professionals, provides up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics with more than 2,500 full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries. (Formerly Gale Health Reference Center Academic)
Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Consumer health database with access to health information from a wide variety of consumer health magazines and reference books.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
Nursing and Allied Health (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Will help nursing and allied health professionals, as well as students in those fields, who are looking for answers related to the specialized care, treatment, and management of all sorts of patients. (Formerly InfoTrac Nursing & Allied Health Collection)
O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
O’Reilly for Higher Education includes more than 38,000 book titles and more than 30,000 hours of video on topics ranging from programming to IT networking to project management to graphic design to business strategy. Available content includes code snippets, certification preparation materials, practice exercises, training videos, and much more.
PrepSTEP This link opens in a new window
A suite of test preparation materials covering core academic skills, career preparation, graduate school admissions, and placement testing. Registration is required so that users can track their progress.
ProQuest Entrepreneurship Database This link opens in a new window
Information for entrepreneurs and researchers that includes business start-up plans, video clips, journals, business cases, and more.
ProQuest Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new window
Clinical research plus consumer and health administration titles.
ProQuest Health Management Database This link opens in a new window
Research supporting professional healthcare management and healthcare administration.
STAT!Ref This link opens in a new window
Enables users to cross-search full-text titles, journals and evidence-based point-of-care authoritative resources.

Related Periodicals

Administrative Professional Today (2009-present)
Practical advice on sharpening your skills, managing your time and winning the recognition you deserve.
Briefings on HIPAA (2009-2021)
Health information management resource for complying with information privacy & security regulations.
Health Insurance Week (2015-present)
Business trends, news and developments affecting health insurance firms and managed care companies.
Journal of Health & Human Services Administration (2001-present)
Dedicated to publishing articles, symposia & book reviews in all areas of health, hospital & welfare administration & management.
OfficePro (2014-present)
A monthly magazine designed and written for administrative professionals. The articles and information provide tips, advice and answers on how to create and manage a better professional career.
Office Technology Today (2014-2020)
Magazine covering computer software, hardware, tips and tricks of interest to office professionals.