Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Print Resources for Accounting
The books in the Vance-Granville library are organized by the Library of Congress classification system. Most of the accounting books will be under the call number for the Social Sciences, which will have call numbers starting with the letter H.
Accounting books in particular could fall under the following call numbers:
HF - Commerce
HG - Finance
HJ - Public Finance
Library of Congress Classification Outline
The Library of Congress Classification Outline gives an overview of how all subjects are organized. Clicking on any subject will open up a PDF that goes into more detail about how call numbers in that section are organized.
On the Money: The ABCs of Accounting
A thorough overview of accountancy. Company case studies and interviews with finance professionals provide a real-world context for the wide range of concepts covered. In addition, important industry terms such as GAAP, AICPA and FASB, CPAs and CMAs, debits and credits, journalizing and posting, assets and liabilities, depreciation and amortization, LIFO and FIFO, gross and net pay, and taxes are defined.
Ebooks about Accounting
Accountants' Handbook by
Publication Date: 2012
A reference on accounting and financial reporting. The new edition reflects the new FASB Codification, and includes expanded coverage of fair value and guidance on developing fair value estimates, fraud risk and exposure, healthcare, and IFRS.
Accounting Best Practices by
Publication Date: 2013
Examines best practices in accounting, covering strategies for increasing productivity, reducing costs, and monitoring existing accounting systems.
Accounting Terminology by
Publication Date: 2016
6 page quick guide to core terms and concepts in accounting.
Keeping the Books by
Publication Date: 2014
A guide for entrepreneurs on preparing and analyzing financial statements, setting up bookkeeping systems, and planning for taxes.
Accounting & Finance Databases
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
General database covering all major academic subjects and offering full text access for over 11,000 publications, with indexing and abstracts for more than 16,000. To learn more about using Academic Search Ultimate, visit the tutorials on the EBSCOhost support page
Academic Video Online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Wide-ranging collection of over 70,000 streaming videos covering a wide range of subject areas. Types of videos include documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, newsreels, and more. Available films include Oscar, Emmy, and Peabody-winning titles.
Associates Programs Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers key subjects in two-year college settings, including cosmetology, culinary arts, substance abuse counseling, and electrical technology, to name a few. The database includes over 2,000 full-text journals and over 300 full-text ebooks.
Business (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage of all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Includes nearly 4,000 leading business and trade publications, updated daily and a selection of international, U.S., and regional news publications. (Formerly Gale Business Collection)
Business Source Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed, full-text journals and other resources that provide historical information and current trends in business. Includes 3,500+ full-text journals and magazines covering accounting, administration, banking, economics, finance, human resources, management, and marketing.
Ebook Central Academic and Public Library Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly ebook titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills.
eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Over 26,000 fiction, reference, scholarly, and professional books online. For tutorials and other help on using EBSCO ebooks on different computers and devices, visit the eBooks on EBSCOhost support page
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (Gale Ebooks) This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of online reference titles.
Morningstar Investment Research Center This link opens in a new window
Includes research and independent opinions on thousands of mutual funds, stocks, and hundreds of ETFs.
ProQuest Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, reference reports, proceedings, and dissertations covering current news and topics as well as the trends and history influencing important accounting, tax, and banking issues.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Full articles from the Wall Street Journal (1981-current).
Accounting & the Public Interest (2001-present)
Provides studies linked to public interest by situating them within an economic, social, ethical, and political context.
Accounting Historians Journal (2004-present)
Addresses the development of accounting thought & practice. It embraces all subject matter relating to accounting history, including but not limited to research that provides an historical perspective on contemporary accounting issues.
Accounting Horizons (1987-present)
Reviewed research manuscripts and commentary relevant to all aspects of the discipline of accounting.
Accounting Review (1926-present)
Articles reporting the results of accounting research and explaining and illustrating related research methodology.
Accounting Today (1992-present)
The latest accounting news and information for CPAs, accountants, tax preparers and auditors, along with practice management advice.
Current Issues in Economics & Finance (1995-2014)
Articles, review articles and commentary on a wide variety of current economic issues and perspectives.
Presents articles on financial & personnel management, marketing, administration, sales and operations for executives & managers of small to mid-sized companies.
Issues in Accounting Education (1983-present)
Journal from the American Accounting Association that presents articles, reviews and commentary on various aspects of accounting education.
Journal of Accounting, Auditing & Finance (1986-present)
Presents research articles, professional adaptation and empirical analysis on all aspects of accounting, auditing and finance for a general readership.
Journal of Business Finance & Accounting (1974-1 year ago)
Research on business finance, financial theory, financial accounting and reporting, management accounting and control, and accountability and audit of performance for professionals in the field.
For Accounting Program Information
Accounting & Finance Degree
The Accounting curriculum is designed to provide students with the knowledge and the skills necessary for employment and growth in the accounting profession. Using the "language of business," accountants assemble and analyze, process, and communicate essential information about financial operations.
Need help? Contact the VGCC Library.