VGCC Library Services: Automotive: Home

Automotive Program at Vance-Granville

Automotive Systems Technology
The Automotive Systems Technology curriculum prepares individuals for employment as Automotive Service Technicians. It provides an introduction to automotive careers and increases student awareness of the challenges associated with this fast and ever-changing field.
Automotive Systems Technology - Diploma
Electrical Systems (Automotive Certificate)
Suspension & Steering (Automotive Certificate)

Automotive Service Excellence Exam

The VGCC Automotive Systems Technology Program is an Automotive Service Excellence (ASE) Certified program under the standards set by the National Automotive Technicians Education Foundation (NATEF). This certification provides a means of identifying quality programs meeting national standards. Students are assured that training received is current, complete and applicable. Upon completion of this curriculum, students should be prepared to take the ASE exam and be ready for full-time employment in dealerships and repair shops in the automotive industry.

National Institute of Automotive Service Excellence
The path to professionalism is paved with good choices. Take the right steps along that path. To help automotive professionals get the recognition they’ve earned for their expertise, ASE has offered its certification exams since 1972.
Download a Free ASE Study Guide
Free study guides for the ASE Certification tests. They cover what the tests are like, what is on them, and sample questions.

Automotive Videos

Films on Demand : Auto Body Repair
A 12-part series offering a complete crash course on how to make damaged vehicles look new again. Ideal for introducing, reinforcing, and reviewing essential body shop practices, procedures, tools, and techniques.
Films on Demand : Automotive Technology
This page contains Automotive Technology videos in the Technical and Trade Education collection.
Films on Demand : Tools of the Trade: Inside the Automotive Technician's Toolbox
Focusing on both conventional and hybrid vehicles, this program examines the systems that make them run and the tools that keep them running.

Web Resources for Automotive

FuelEconomy.gov
The US Environmental Protection Agency's (EPA) site for information about automobile fuel economy. Learn how to determine gas mileage, compare different vehicles, and find out about hybrid and other alternative fuel cars and trucks.

Print Resources for Automotive

The books in the Vance-Granville library are organized by the Library of Congress classification system. Most of the automotive books will be under the call number for Technology, which will have call numbers starting with the letter T. Some are also housed in the Social Sciences collection under the letter H.

Automotive books in particular could fall under the following call numbers:

HE - Transportation and Communications

TL - Motor Vehicles

Library of Congress Classification - Social Sciences
This PDF is a guide to the Library of Congress classification for Social Sciences.
Library of Congress Classification - Technology
This PDF is a guide to the Library of Congress classification for Technology.
Library of Congress Classification Outline
The Library of Congress Classification Outline gives an overview of how all subjects are organized. Clicking on any subject will open up a PDF that goes into more detail about how call numbers in that section are organized.

Related Periodicals

Auto Express (2014-present)
British magazine covering automotive news & reviews with a European focus.
Automobile Magazine (1998-present)
Features the history and the business of cars through innovative writing and photography.
Automotive News (1994-present)
A weekly trade magazine that covers the North American automotive industry.
Autoweek (2002-present)
Covers auto racing, auto shows, vehicle trends, reviews and automotive lifestyle stories.
Car & Driver (2015-45 days ago)
A magazine for car enthusiasts and car buyers, providing thorough evaluations and road tests of many different kinds of vehicles as well as information on technology, motorsports, gear and industry news.
Mechanics of Structures & Machines (2000-present)
Emphasizes contemporary research of immediate and potential application to aerospace, automotive, civil and mechanical engineering, marine, and related structures.
Motor (1998-present)
A magazine for auto-service professionals and wholly dedicated to the mechanical device that makes your car go.
Motor Age (1984-present)
Reports on current news and information for the domestic and import automotive service industry.
Motor Trend (1988-1995)
Features car reviews, auto news, concept cars, used cars, auto shows, awards, and much more.
Motor Trend (1992-present)
Features car reviews, auto news, new cars, concept cars, used cars, auto shows, awards, and much more.
Popular Mechanics (1996-present)
Service magazine providing ideas and information on automobiles, home building, maintenance, boating, outdoor recreation, electronics and science.

Automotive Databases

Academic Video Online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Wide-ranging collection of over 70,000 streaming videos covering a wide range of subject areas. Types of videos include documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, newsreels, and more. Available films include Oscar, Emmy, and Peabody-winning titles.
Associates Programs Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers key subjects in two-year college settings, including cosmetology, culinary arts, substance abuse counseling, and electrical technology, to name a few. The database includes over 2,000 full-text journals and over 300 full-text ebooks.
Chilton Online Auto Repair Manuals (Gale) This link opens in a new window
An online vehicle repair library with maintenance and repair information on hundreds of cars, trucks, and SUV's from 1940 to the present. The Chilton Library also includes labor estimates, bulletins and recall information, and test preparation quizzes for the Delmar ASE Technician Test.
eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Over 26,000 fiction, reference, scholarly, and professional books online. For tutorials and other help on using EBSCO ebooks on different computers and devices, visit the eBooks on EBSCOhost support page.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.
ProQuest Career & Technical Education Database This link opens in a new window
Vocational information on technical topics, such as computing science, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design, and photography.
ProQuest Engineering Database This link opens in a new window
This database provides discipline-specific coverage of engineering, spanning thousands of publications, many in full text.
Vocations and Careers (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Access journals and magazines that aid users in researching a vocation, finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career. The database offers hundreds of current and applicable periodicals, from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals. (Formerly InfoTrac Vocations/Careers & Technical Education Collection)

Subject Guide

Library Services

Contact:

Main: (252) 738-3279
South: (252) 738-3510
Franklin: (252) 738-3606
Warren: (252) 738-3686

For Automotive Program Information

Frederick Brewer

Program Head, Automotive Systems Technology

brewerf@vgcc.edu

(252) 738-3204