Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Photo "libros y ebooks" by Tina Franklin via flickr. Used under a CC BY-SA license.
The VGCC library's online resources are available from any computer or electronic device on campus. For off-campus access, students will need to enter their Web Advisor login and password.
For access to thousands of ebooks, click one of the links below. All ebooks are accessible with a web browser on a connected computer or other device.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference offers online access to 1,250 reference books covering all major academic disciplines. (If you see an error when trying to access Credo Reference, refresh the page or use a different browser.)
eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Over 26,000 fiction, reference, scholarly, and professional books online. For tutorials and other help on using EBSCO ebooks on different computers and devices, visit the eBooks on EBSCOhost support page
Ebook Central Academic and Public Library Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly ebook titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (Gale Ebooks) This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of online reference titles.
Online databases provide access to huge, searchable collections of articles from newspapers, magazines, and academic journals, many of which include the full text of the articles. Click on a database below to get started.
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
General database covering all major academic subjects and offering full text access for over 11,000 publications, with indexing and abstracts for more than 16,000. To learn more about using Academic Search Ultimate, visit the tutorials on the EBSCOhost support page
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for more than 1,400 journals, some dating back to 1937. CINAHL Complete also includes full text for 275 books and monographs. To learn more about how to search CINAHL Complete, visit the CINAHL tutorials page
Health & Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
For students, researchers, and health care professionals, provides up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics with more than 2,500 full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries. (Formerly Gale Health Reference Center Academic)
Global Issues (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues. The database ties together a variety of sources to present a rich analysis of issues – social, political, military, economic, environmental, science related, health related, cultural – and headlines in world hot spots. Browse by topic to find videos.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.
Nursing and Allied Health (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Will help nursing and allied health professionals, as well as students in those fields, who are looking for answers related to the specialized care, treatment, and management of all sorts of patients. (Formerly InfoTrac Nursing & Allied Health Collection)
Psychology (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind. Offers content of interest to students, researchers and general users. (Formerly InfoTrac Psychology Collection)
ProQuest Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
Clinical and social psychology articles on topics such as genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more.
ProQuest Sociology Database This link opens in a new window
Sociological and social work research including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction, and more.
Social Work Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Information resource for social workers and mental health professionals. Covers a wide array of topics such as social problems, adolescent health, aging, end-of-life care, clinical social work, and diversity.
Films on Demand
Films on Demand is an educational streaming video service, with thousands of videos available to on demand, from anywhere. Mental health, substance abuse, and disabilities are just a few of the related topics covered by Films on Demand. Click the link below to go to Films on Demand.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.
Online Reference Books
To access the following ebooks, click on the title you want to see. To see thousands more ebooks, click on the links in the "Ebooks" box in the left-hand column.
These are just a few of the related journals available online. For many more human services and mental health publications, click on one of the links in the "Online Databases" box to the left. See our complete list of online resources by visiting our Databases page.
For more information, contact
Need help? Contact the VGCC Library.