VGCC Library Services: Nursing Resources: Nursing Overview

Search Library Resources In Print

Search Items in the VGCC Library

Using the VGCC Library

To find print resources in the VGCC Library, you can search the library catalog (see above) using relevant keywords, such as

nursing
health sciences
patient care
anatomy
pathology
physiology
psychiatric

or use keywords for the specific topics you are looking for.

You can also browse the library shelves by going to the following call number areas:

RT 1-120 Nursing
R 5-920 General Medicine
RB 1-214 Pathology
RC 31-1245 Internal Medicine

Learn More About Nursing & Careers

History of Nursing
This video series looks at the history of nursing from its origins to its development over time, and looks at the future of the profession.
Critical Care Nurse-Career Q&A
Emergency Nurse-Career Q&A
Neonatal Nurse-Career Q&A
Nurse Anesthetist-Career Q&A
Oncological Nurse-Career Q&A
Registered Nurse- Career Q&A

Nursing at Vance-Granville

For Nursing Program Information:

DR. ANNA SEAMAN

Instructor/Program Head, Nursing

seamana@vgcc.edu

(252) 738-3483

Subject Guide

Library Services

Contact:

Main: (252) 738-3279
South: (252) 738-3510
Franklin: (252) 738-3606
Warren: (252) 738-3686

Nursing Databases

Search Electronic Resources with Summon®

Advanced Search Journal and Ebook Finder

Stethoscope lying on a computer keyboard
"laptop and stethoscope" by jfcherry is licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0

Nursing-Focused Databases

CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The world's most comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for more than 1,400 journals, some dating back to 1937. CINAHL Complete also includes full text for 275 books and monographs. To learn more about how to search CINAHL Complete, visit the CINAHL tutorials page.
Health & Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
For students, researchers, and health care professionals, provides up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics with more than 2,500 full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries. (Formerly Gale Health Reference Center Academic)
Nursing and Allied Health (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Will help nursing and allied health professionals, as well as students in those fields, who are looking for answers related to the specialized care, treatment, and management of all sorts of patients. (Formerly InfoTrac Nursing & Allied Health Collection)
Nursing Reference Center Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
An evidence-based point-of-care resource specifically for nurses that includes nursing care plans, nurse management and leadership topics, regulator and risk management topics, nursing skills checklists, video demonstrations of nursing practices, patient education handouts, and continuing education credits.
ProQuest Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new window
Clinical research plus consumer and health administration titles.
ProQuest Health Management Database This link opens in a new window
Research supporting professional healthcare management and healthcare administration.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
Journals and dissertations covering nursing, allied health, and alternative and complementary medicine.
ProQuest Public Health Database This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to the core literature in the field of public health.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive resource containing citations (not full articles) to biomedical articles and life science journals. (Internet Resource)
STAT!Ref This link opens in a new window
Enables users to cross-search full-text titles, journals and evidence-based point-of-care authoritative resources.

Test Prep

BoardVitals from Stat!Ref This link opens in a new window
Online, computer-adaptive practice questions for NCLEX-RN, NCLEX-PN, the ARRT Radiography Exam, and Surgical Technology.

Click on BoardVitals button to access. Create a free account in order to access the practice questions.
LearningExpress Library & PrepSTEP Academic This link opens in a new window
Practice tests, interactive tutorials, and ebooks for students adult learners. Includes practices tests such as GED, GRE, SAT, TEAS, and supports those looking to improve core academic skills, pass a high school equivalency test, prepare for college, join the military, obtain occupational certification, find a job, change careers, become a U.S. citizen and much more.

General Databases with Good Health Sciences Coverage

Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
General database covering all major academic subjects and offering full text access for over 11,000 publications, with indexing and abstracts for more than 16,000. To learn more about using Academic Search Ultimate, visit the tutorials on the EBSCOhost support page.
Academic Video Online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Wide-ranging collection of over 70,000 streaming videos covering a wide range of subject areas. Types of videos include documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, newsreels, and more. Available films include Oscar, Emmy, and Peabody-winning titles.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference offers online access to 1,250 reference books covering all major academic disciplines. (If you see an error when trying to access Credo Reference, refresh the page or use a different browser.)
Ebook Central Academic and Public Library Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly ebook titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills.
eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Over 26,000 fiction, reference, scholarly, and professional books online. For tutorials and other help on using EBSCO ebooks on different computers and devices, visit the eBooks on EBSCOhost support page.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (Gale Ebooks) This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of online reference titles.
ProQuest Science Database This link opens in a new window
Applied and general science articles covering topics such as global warming, alternative energy sources, robotic engineering, genetically modified food, and more.

Nursing Reference Books Online

Anatomy and Physiology: An Introduction for Nursing and Healthcare by Pamela Minett; Laura Ginesi
ISBN: 9781908625731
Publication Date: 2020-12-15
Davis's Comprehensive Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests with Nursing Implications by Anne M. Van Leeuwen; Mickey Lynn Bladh
ISBN: 9781719640589
Publication Date: 2021-04-06
Davis's Diseases and Disorders by Marilyn Sawyer Sommers
ISBN: 9781719645492
Publication Date: 2022
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses by April Hazard Vallerand; Cynthia A. Sanoski
ISBN: 9781719646406
Publication Date: 2022-05-18
Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health by Jacqueline L. Longe (Editor)
ISBN: 9781410363206
Publication Date: 2017-12-07
Professional Guide to Diseases by Laura Willis
ISBN: 9781975107727
Publication Date: 2019-05-03
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary by Donald Venes
ISBN: 9781719642859
Publication Date: 2021-02-17

Nursing Periodicals

American Journal of Medical Research (2014-present)
Publishes original medical, pre-clinical and clinical research and reviews in the areas of medicine and medical research.
BMJ: British Medical Journal (2002-10 weeks ago)
The long-running weekly peer-reviewed medical trade journal published by the British Medical Association (BMA).
Clinical Journal of Oncology Nursing (2000-12 months ago)
Covers information necessary for direct care of patients and their families across the cancer continuum.
Comprehensive Child & Adolescent Nursing (1998-15 months ago)
Peer-reviewed journal for children’s nurses and other professionals who care for children in all health care settings.
Critical Care Nurse (2002-present)
Journal publishing practical, clinically relevant articles focused on the care of critically ill patients & their families.
Drug Topics (1991-present)
Addresses developments that affect pharmacies and offers business, financial, and regulatory information for community pharmacists in stand-alone stores and chain operations.
Evidence-Based Nursing (1998-1 year ago)
Professional journal that publishes scholarly summaries of advances in international nursing research, including treatment, diagnosis, etiology, and prognosis.
Intensive & Critical Care Nursing (2003-2 months ago)
Covers intensive & critical care nursing, including clinical, research, educational, psychological and technological aspects.
Journal of Nursing Education (1962-present)
A peer-reviewed journal publishing original articles and new ideas for nurse educators.
Journal of Psychosocial Nursing and Mental Health Services (1963-1966 & Aug. 1981-present)
Clinical information for psychosocial nurses and other mental health professionals.
The Lancet (1992-3 months ago)
Well-known British medical journal
Maternal and Child Health Journal (1997-12 months ago)
Covers the maternal and child health field.
MEDSURG Nursing (1998-present)
Provides multidisciplinary information needed to provide clinically excellent patient care & to enhance nursing practices.
Nursing (1975-2007)
Articles, special reports, profiles, and news of note published for professional nurses and administrators in hospitals, managed health care, doctor's offices and schools.
Nursing Education Perspectives (2002-2016)
Provides a forum for the exchange of information & ideas regarding nursing education & nursing faculty issues.
Pediatric Nursing (1997-present)
Bimonthly peer-reviewed nursing journal focusing on professional pediatric nursing in clinical practice, education, research, and administration.
Tar Heel Nurse (1994-present)
Trade magazine published by the North Carolina Nurses Association.
U.S. Pharmacist (2006-present)
Journal providing pharmacists with peer-reviewed clinical articles relevant to contemporary pharmacy practice.