Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Theater & Film Databases
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
General database covering all major academic subjects and offering full text access for over 11,000 publications, with indexing and abstracts for more than 16,000. To learn more about using Academic Search Ultimate, visit the tutorials on the EBSCOhost support page
Academic Video Online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Wide-ranging collection of over 70,000 streaming videos covering a wide range of subject areas. Types of videos include documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, newsreels, and more. Available films include Oscar, Emmy, and Peabody-winning titles.
Art & Architecture Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text coverage for hundreds of periodicals dating back to 1937 and additional full-text for hundreds of books.
Associates Programs Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers key subjects in two-year college settings, including cosmetology, culinary arts, substance abuse counseling, and electrical technology, to name a few. The database includes over 2,000 full-text journals and over 300 full-text e-books.
Ebook Central Academic and Public Library Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly ebook titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills.
eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Over 26,000 fiction, reference, scholarly, and professional books online. For tutorials and other help on using EBSCO ebooks on different computers and devices, visit the eBooks on EBSCOhost support page
Feature Films for Education This link opens in a new window
A collection of more than 650 full-length feature films. This stand-alone collection from Films on Demand includes current and hard-to-find movies, including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classic films, science fiction, animation, Oscar-winners, and more.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.
Fine Arts (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Places over 10 million articles at the fingertips of students of drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. More than 250 journals are available in full text. (Formerly InfoTrac Fine Arts & Music Collection)
NC LIVE Video Collection (via Films on Demand) This link opens in a new window
A wide-ranging collection of online videos, including PBS documentaries, NC history videos, and films from the state Archives. Now hosted in Films on Demand.
ProQuest Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
General reference database from business and political science to literature and psychology scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and daily news content, accessible to readers and researchers at every level.
American Theatre (1992-present)
Articles, commentary, review articles, theatre reviews on all aspects of national theatre.
Film Criticism (1976-present)
Writing from a new generation of film historians, theorists, and critics representing many different disciplines, cultures, and critical perspectives.
Film History (1997-present)
Publishes research on the international history of cinema; includes the production, distribution, exhibition, and reception of films designed for commercial theaters, as well as nontheatrical, noncommercial uses of motion pictures.
Journal of Film & Video (1998-present)
Articles and reviews in the fields of film and video production, history, theory, criticism, and aesthetics.
Journal of Popular Film & Television (1990-18 months ago)
Articles dedicated to popular film and television in the broadest sense. Concentration on commercial cinema and television, theory/criticism, interviews, filmographies, bibliographies, stars, directors, producers, studios and networks.
Literature/Film Quarterly (1973-present)
Articles on individual motion pictures, interviews with directors, screenwriters and literary figures, reviews of current film adaptations of literary works, reviews of books concerning film and responses to articles and reviews.
Millennium Film Journal (2003-present)
Publishes articles about independent, experimental, and avant-garde cinema, video, and film works using digital technologies.
Modern Drama (1997-6 months ago)
Articles, essays and book reviews on modern drama.
Theater (1997- 1 year ago)
Articles, commentary, plays, and book reviews about theater.
Theatre Research International (2001-1 year ago)
Publishes articles on theatre practices in their social, cultural, and historical contexts, their relationship to other media of representation, and to other fields of inquiry.
Browse Databases and Periodicals by Name
Browse Databases by Format
Popular & Professional Development Periodicals
Need help? Contact the VGCC Library.