VGCC Library Services announces new resources for students, faculty and staff to explore their passions for innovation and creation with the new Epson Perfection V850 Pro Scanning Station, ABBYY FineReader OCR (Optical Character Recognition) software, Adobe Master Suite Collection and Microsoft Office. With these products, users can digitally archive virtually any original document, whether that is in the form of text, printed photos, slides or negatives. Adobe Master Suite Collection offers users the same professional software used by movie production facilities, newspapers, advertising agencies, and multimedia creators worldwide to create Flash presentations, build websites, design brochures, manipulate photos, and so much more. This LibGuide provides links to tutorials for all products, so whether you are a Dreamweaver expert or just curious, our scanning and design station offers something for you. Call us to schedule a time to explore and unleash your creative side!
Photo Credit: www.shutterstock.com
Microsoft Office Software Training
Take these training courses to get up to speed on the latest applications.
Microsoft Word – This is the premiere word processing program used by businesses.
Microsoft Excel - This spreadsheet program allows users to compile and analyze financial and statistical data.
PowerPoint – This presentation software allows users to create slide shows and to imbed video and graphics into the presentations.
Access – Access is Microsoft’s database management system. It allows users to store data and also to import data stored in other databases and applications.
Outlook - This is Microsoft’s premiere communication software for email.
OneNote – This is a note-taking software program, allowing users to share notes, drawings, and other items of interest via the Internet or a network
Publisher – This is Microsoft’s desktop publishing software used for designing newsletters, brochures, and other printed pieces.
© 2015 Microsoft Corporation. All Rights Reserved. http://www.microsoft.com
Photo Credit: www.shutterstock.com
Adobe Interactive Design Technology
Adobe Flash® Catalyst™ CS5— With this software, students can design interactive content and add video to Adobe Flash Player runtime projects without learning to write code.
Adobe Flash® Professional CS5—Flash Professional CS5 is the premiere software for interactive design technology. It creates interactive presentations which work across computer platforms and mobile devices.
Photo credit: www.shutterstock.com
Photo Credit: Lizabeth Elaine Stem
Epson PerfectionV850
Scanning Station
Get professional-quality scans from text, negatives, slides and photos. With a 6400 dpi resolution and Digital ICE® Technologies to remove surface defects, this scanner can digitally archive virtually any original. The scanning station also features Adobe Illustrator and Photoshop to add state-of-the-art graphic manipulation software. The workstation is loaded with ABBYY FineReader OCR (Optical Character Recognition) software to help individuals turn scans of paper documents, PDF files, and digital photographs into searchable and editable formats.
Photo Credit: www.epson.com
Photo Credit: www.shutterstock.com
Adobe InDesign® CS5—Used by advertising agencies, newspapers and magazine around the world as their preferred production software, InDesign CS5 is state-of-the-art desktop publishing software that gives students the ability to create rich interactive documents that attract and engage readers. Students can create posters, flyers, brochures, advertisements, and so much more with vivid color, photos and high tech graphics.
Adobe Photoshop® CS5 Extended—From broadcast video production to Web design and desktop publishing, this is the premiere software package for creating cutting-edge graphics.
This is an essential design tool for creating powerful, compelling vector graphics for posters, presentations, websites and more.
Adobe Acrobat software delivers powerful solutions to convert finished documents into a universal file format which can be used across many platforms, including Web and print.
Photo Credit: www.shutterstock.com
Adobe Website Design
Adobe Dreamweaver® CS5—Dreamweaver CS5 empowers expert and novice designers to build standards-based websites with confidence. Users can create pages visually or directly in code and and accurately test browser compatibility.
Adobe Fireworks® CS5—Fireworks CS5 offers the flexibility to edit both vector and bitmap images. It integrates with Dreamweaver CS5, Illustrator CS5, Adobe Photoshop CS5, and Flash Professional CS5 software.
Adobe Contribute® CS5— This software will allow students to publish content to multiple websites from a single application or to publish directly from within Microsoft Office applications.
Adobe Video and Audio Production
Adobe After Effects® CS5—This software produces motion graphics and visual effects for DVD, video, film, and the Web.
Adobe Premiere® Pro CS5— This video production software provides state-of-the-art video and audio-editing tools to give students the software control needed to prepare multimedia presentations and movies.
Adobe Soundbooth® CS5—This tool allows students to edit audio in film, video, and Adobe Flash software projects. With this software students will have the ability to clean up voice-overs and recordings, as well as to polish voice-overs customize music and sound effects.
Adobe Encore® CS5—This software gives users the ability to output high quality content to all recordable DVD formats without needing to master the technicalities of authoring professional DVDs.
Adobe OnLocation™ CS5—Adobe OnLocation CS5 gives users a direct-to-disk recording solution. It is a critical component in the script-to-screen workflow.
Adobe® Creative Suite® 5 Master Collection, Adobe, the Adobe logo, Acrobat, Adobe Premiere, Adobe OnLocation, After Effects, Contribute, Dreamweaver, Encore, Fireworks, Flash, Flash Builder, Flash Catalyst, Flex, Illustrator, InDesign, Photoshop, and Soundbooth are either registered trademarks or trademarks of Adobe Systems Incorporated in the United States and/or other countries. All other trademarks are the property of their respective owners. © 2010 Adobe Systems Incorporated. All rights reserved.
Need help? Contact the VGCC Library.