Skip to Main Content
VGCC Small Business Center (SBC)
The Small Business Center of the College was created to provide the small businesses of the community with a focal point for training, education, counseling and referral. The Small Business Center addresses the continuing need for updated information, refinement of management skills and the improvement of profit advantage in risk-taking. Special attention is given to the critical areas of capital formation and prevention of business failures.
What is NC LIVE?
The power of your library, online! We give you free access to eBooks, audio books, videos, online magazines, newspapers, journals, and more.
Business Information Online
To access online library databases from off campus, VGCC students will need to sign in with a myVGCC (WebAdvisor) login and password.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Business research from journals, trade publications, market research reports, dissertations, and working papers.
Business Source Ultimate (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed, full-text journals and other resources that provide historical information and current trends in business. Includes 3,500+ full-text journals and magazines covering accounting, administration, banking, economics, finance, human resources, management, and marketing.
Entrepreneurship (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of starting and operating a business, including finance, management, marketing, human resources, franchising, accounting, and taxes. It includes 300 business journals and magazines and reference titles such as the Business Plans Handbook series, the Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Strategies, Encyclopedia of Management, and Encyclopedia of Small Business. (Formerly InfoTrac Small Business Collection)
Morningstar Investment Research Center This link opens in a new window
Includes research and independent opinions on thousands of mutual funds, stocks, and hundreds of ETFs.
ProQuest Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
This database contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots.
Other Useful Links
AccessNC, your one-stop source for North Carolina economic data and site information. With AccessNC, you can find properties statewide that meet your business needs. Our system allows you to map these properties and create custom demographic reports for the site-specific locations you select. From community demographic reports to labor market and education data, AccessNC lets you access the data you need to make important business decisions.
GCFLearnFree.org® creates and provides quality, innovative online learning opportunities to anyone who wants to improve the technology, literacy and math skills needed to be successful in both work and life. By delivering over 750 different lessons to millions of people in over 200 countries and territories ABSOLUTELY FREE, GCFLearnFree.org is a worldwide leader in online education.
Need help? Contact the VGCC Library.