Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
VGCC Library Services logo

OST 140: Internet Communication and Research: Accessing
Information

Search Engine Tips and Tricks

Clip art of a globe and magnifying glass.

Searching the web can be simple, but there are lots of ways to be a better searcher. Look at the articles below for tips on how to go beyond the basics.

How Search Works

Searching Basics

Internet search engines, like Google and Bing, are essential for locating specific information on the web.  The following links show you the basics of how to search the web and explain how search engines work.

What is a database?

Internet websites that you find with a search engine like Google are not the only way to find information online.  Online or library databases are often the best option when you are looking for authoritative, immediately accessible, online information. The video below explains what databases are and why you should use them.

VGCC Library Databases

The VGCC Library offers a large number of online databases for student use. These databases are not freely available on the Internet, but you can access them directly when on campus, and with your myVGCC (WebAdvisor) login and password when off campus.  The selected databases listed below are good ones to start with.  You can view the full list or go to the Databases tab on the VGCC library's main page.

VGCC Library Services

Profile Photo
Library Services
Contact:
Main: (252) 738-3279
South: (252) 738-3510
Franklin: (252) 738-3606
Warren: (252) 738-3686

Need help?  Contact the VGCC Library.