VGCC Library Services: Electronics & Mechatronics Engineering Technologies: Home

Electronics, Mechatronics, & Robotics Databases

Academic Video Online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Wide-ranging collection of over 70,000 streaming videos covering a wide range of subject areas. Types of videos include documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, newsreels, and more. Available films include Oscar, Emmy, and Peabody-winning titles.
Associates Programs Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers key subjects in two-year college settings, including cosmetology, culinary arts, substance abuse counseling, and electrical technology, to name a few. The database includes over 2,000 full-text journals and over 300 full-text ebooks.
Ebook Central Academic and Public Library Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly ebook titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills.
eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Over 26,000 fiction, reference, scholarly, and professional books online. For tutorials and other help on using EBSCO ebooks on different computers and devices, visit the eBooks on EBSCOhost support page.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.
O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
O’Reilly for Higher Education includes more than 38,000 book titles and more than 30,000 hours of video on topics ranging from programming to IT networking to project management to graphic design to business strategy. Available content includes code snippets, certification preparation materials, practice exercises, training videos, and much more.
ProQuest Career & Technical Education Database This link opens in a new window
Vocational information on technical topics, such as computing science, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design, and photography.
ProQuest Computing Database This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, trade publications, and consumer titles covering topics such as artificial intelligence, automation, gaming, graphics, networking, security, database management, systems administration, information science and hardware.
ProQuest Engineering Database This link opens in a new window
This database provides discipline-specific coverage of engineering, spanning thousands of publications, many in full text.
ProQuest Science Database This link opens in a new window
Applied and general science articles covering topics such as global warming, alternative energy sources, robotic engineering, genetically modified food, and more.

Related Periodicals

Electronic Design (1984-present)
Professional magazine covering current information in the field of electronic design.
Electronics Weekly (2002-present)
Contains technical features, news analysis, product news and industry trends.
Electronics World (2010-present)
Articles and product news for the electronics industry.
Journal of Automation, Mobile Robotics & Intelligent Systems (2012-present)
Publishes articles in the fields of Fundamentals of automation and robotics, Applied automatics, Mobile robots control, Distributed systems, Biomechatronics, Mobile computing, and Mechatronics systems in robotics.
Journal of Intelligent & Robotic Systems (1997-1 year ago)
Covers subjects that include control systems, bioengineering, robotics and automation, mechatronics, unmanned systems, and other related areas in which cutting edge technologies have been developed and applied to model, design, build and test complex engineering and autonomous systems.
Journal of Microelectronic & Electronic Packaging (2010-present)
Dedicated to publishing peer-reviewed papers in microelectronics, multichip module technologies, electronic packaging, electronic materials, surface mount and other related technologies.
Machine Design (1997-present)
Articles, special reports, commentary, news trends & tech briefs for research, development & design engineers engaged in the design & manufacture of machinery, electrical/electronic equipment & mechanical equipment.
Tech Directions (1995-present)
Articles and commentary on practical application of technical education to the needs of industry.

Electronics & Mechatronics : Selected Print Materials

Take Note: The print materials listed here are not an exhaustive list of the available library resources for Electronics Engineering Technology. If looking for other materials, please consult the library catalog or meet with one of VGCC's librarians.

If a book you are interested in is at another campus, please contact library staff about getting books from other locations.

Arduino Sketches: Tools and Techniques for Programming Wizardr by James A. Langbridge
Call Number: TJ 223 .P76 L36 2015
Publication Date: 2015-01-12
A practical guide to programming the Arduino microcontroller that is accessible at any level, and provides programming and hands-on practice.
The Art of Electronics by Paul Horowitz; Winfield Hill
Call Number: TK 7815 .H67 2015b
ISBN: 9780521809269
Publication Date: 2015-03-30
Authoritative book on electronic circuit design.
Basic Circuit Analysis by John O'Malley
Call Number: TK 146 .M355 2011
ISBN: 9780071756433
Publication Date: 2011-02-17
A concise guide to the standard college course in basic circuits, this book includes, example problems, explanations of electric circuit concepts, and a review of basic circuit analysis.
Digital Electronics by William Kleitz
Call Number: TK 7868 .D5 K55 2005
ISBN: 0131141651
Publication Date: 2004-07-14
Covers all aspects of digital electronics, including xllinx and altera software; state machines; website references; and increased coverage of PLDS, memories (including optical memory systems), surface mount packaging, PC repair, and more.
Electronic Communications for Technicians by Tom Wheeler
Call Number: TK 5101 W47 2006
ISBN: 9780131130494
Publication Date: 2005-04-08
Uses plain language and an abundance of examples and case studies to explore real circuits, systems, and their troubleshooting.
Encyclopedia of Electronic Components (3 volumes) by Charles Platt
Call Number: TK 7870 .P53 2012
ISBN: 9781449333898
Publication Date: 2012-2016
This three-volume set includes key information on electronics parts--complete with photographs, schematics, and diagrams.
The Internet of Things by Donald Norris
Call Number: TJ 212 .N67 2015
ISBN: 9780071835206
Publication Date: 2015-01-27
Addresses the most popular processing platforms and wireless communication technologies to connect devices and systems to the Internet using sensors. Covers object-oriented programming and relational databases and includes projects that feature required tools and components, illustrated how-to's, and programming code.
Introductory Circuit Analysis by Robert L. Boylestad
Call Number: TK454 .B68 2015
ISBN: 9780133923605
Publication Date: 2015-03-23
Contains updated insights on the highly technical subject, providing readers with the most current information in circuit analysis. With updated software components and challenging review questions at the end of each chapter, this text engages readers in a profound understanding of Circuit Analysis.
Make: Electronics by Charles Platt
Call Number: TK 7870 .P53 2015
ISBN: 9781680450262
Publication Date: 2015-09-07
Learn electronics fundamentals with hands-on projects that introduce key components and essential principles.
Make: FPGAs by David Romano
Call Number: TK 7895 .G36 R66 2016
ISBN: 9781457187858
Publication Date: 2016-03-18
Learn how to break down problems into something that can be solved on a Field-Programmable Gate Array (FPGA), design the logic that will run on your FPGA, and hook up electronic components to create finished projects.
Make: More Electronics by Charles Platt
Call Number: TK 9965 .P533 2014
ISBN: 9781449344047
Publication Date: 2014-05-24
Picks up where Make: Electronics left off: you'll work with components like comparators, light sensors, higher-level logic chips, multiplexers, shift registers, encoders, decoders, and magnetic sensors. You'll also learn about topics like audio amplification, randomicity, as well as positive and negative feedback. Includes step-by-step instructions and hundreds of illustrations.
Making Simple Robots by Kathy Ceceri
Call Number: TJ 211 .C43 2015
ISBN: 9781457183638
Publication Date: 2015-03-01
Helps beginners move beyond basic craft skills and materials to the latest products and tools being used by artists and inventors. Animate folded paper origami, design a robot wheel-leg for 3D printing, or program a doll to blink its eye. Each project includes step-by-step directions as well as clear diagrams and photographs.
Motors for Makers by Matthew Scarpino
Call Number: TK 2537 .S33 2016
ISBN: 9780134032832
Publication Date: 2015-11-30
Explains how electric motors work and what you need to know about each major type: stepper, servo, induction, and linear motors. Includes instructions and working code for interfacing with and controlling servomotors with Arduino Mega, Raspberry Pi, and BeagleBone Black.
Principles of Electronic Communication Systems by Louis E. Frenzel
Call Number: TK 5101 .F664 2016
ISBN: 9780073373850
Publication Date: 2015-02-09
For electronic communications beginners, this text explores state-of-the-art communications technologies and current industry practice, including the Internet, cell phones, and wireless technologies. Also covers practical skills like testing and troubleshooting.
Programmable Logic Controllers by William Bolton
Call Number: TJ 223 .P76 B65 2015
ISBN: 9780128029299
Publication Date: 2015-03-03
Learn the main design characteristics, internal architecture, and operating principles of PLCs and identify safety issues and methods for fault diagnosis, testing, and debugging.
Robot Programming by Cameron Hughes; Tracey Hughes
Call Number: TJ 211.45 .H844 2016
ISBN: 9780789755001
Publication Date: 2016-05-12
Introduces the reader to basic concepts of programming robots to execute tasks without the use of remote controls.

Related Reference Books in Print

Reference books may be used in the library and cannot be checked out.

Fundamentals of Tool Design by Sme; John G. Nee; William Dufraine; John W. Evans; Mark Hill
Call Number: REF TJ 1185 .F875 2010
ISBN: 9780872638679
Publication Date: 2010-04-26
Available at Main & South.
Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers by Eugene A. Avallone; Theodore Baumeister; Ali M. Sadegh
Call Number: REF TJ 151 .A92 2006
ISBN: 9780071428675
Publication Date: 2006-12-07
Available at Main

Related LibGuides

Electrical Systems Technology LibGuide
This guide contains resources for the Electrical Systems Technology program. There may be some overlap in useful resources between these programs and the Electrical Systems program.

Electronics & Mechantronics Engineering Technology at VGCC

Electronics Engineering Technology Degree
The Electronics Engineering Technology curriculum prepares individuals to become technicians who design, build, install, test, troubleshoot, repair, and modify developmental and production electronic components, equipment, and systems such as industrial/computer controls, manufacturing systems, communication systems, and power electronic systems.
Mechatronics Engineering Technology Degree
This curriculum is designed to prepare students through the study and application of principles from mathematics, natural sciences, and technology and applied processes.
Electronics Engineering Technology Certificate
Programmable Logic Controllers
Robotics & Machine Design Certificate

For Electronics & Mechatronics Engineering Technology Program Information

WESLEY WILLIAMS

Department Chair, Applied Technologies

Program Head, Engineering Technologies

williamsw@vgcc.edu

(252) 738-3256

VGCC Library Services

Library Services

Contact:

Main: (252) 738-3279
South: (252) 738-3510
Franklin: (252) 738-3606
Warren: (252) 738-3686