VGCC Library Services: Cosmetology & Related Programs: Home

Search Library Resources In Print

Search Items in the VGCC Library

Using the VGCC Library

To find print resources in the VGCC Library, you can search the library catalog (see above) using relevant keywords, such as

cosmetology
hairdressing
grooming
salons
personal care
makeup

or use keywords for the specific topics you are looking for.

You can also browse the library shelves by going to the following call number areas:

RA 776.98-779: Grooming
TT 950-979: Hairdressing. Beauty culture.
RL 87-155 Dermatology-Care & Hygiene, Therapeutics
PN 2068: Stage Makeup

Cosmetology Reference

The History of Modern Fashion by Daniel James Cole; Nancy Deihl
ISBN: 9781780676036

Publication Date: 2015-09-15

Focusing on fashion from 1850, noted fashion historians Daniel James Cole and Nancy Deihl consider the evolution of style decade by decade.
Costume, Makeup, and Hair by Adrienne L. McLean (Editor)
ISBN: 9780813571522

Publication Date: 2016-10-07

Each chapter examines a different era in film history, revealing how costume, makeup, and hair have made the transitions from stage to screen, from monochrome to color, and from analog to digital.
The Oxford Companion to the Body
ISBN: 9780198524038

Publication Date: 2002-02-07

Covers the structure and function of all the major systems of the body and the causes of disorders that affect them.

Search Online Articles and Ebooks

Search Electronic Resources

Cosmetology Databases

Academic Video Online (ProQuest)

Wide-ranging collection of over 70,000 streaming videos covering a wide range of subject areas. Types of videos include documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, newsreels, and more. Available films include Oscar, Emmy, and Peabody-winning titles.
Associates Programs Source Plus (EBSCO)

Covers key subjects in two-year college settings, including cosmetology, culinary arts, substance abuse counseling, and electrical technology, to name a few. The database includes over 2,000 full-text journals and over 300 full-text ebooks.
Ebook Central Academic and Public Library Complete

Scholarly ebook titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills.
eBooks on EBSCOhost
Over 26,000 fiction, reference, scholarly, and professional books online. For tutorials and other help on using EBSCO ebooks on different computers and devices, visit the eBooks on EBSCOhost support page.
Films on Demand

Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.
PrepSTEP
A suite of test preparation materials covering core academic skills, career preparation, graduate school admissions, and placement testing. Registration is required so that users can track their progress.
ProQuest Career & Technical Education Database
Vocational information on technical topics, such as computing science, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design, and photography.
ProQuest Entrepreneurship Database
Information for entrepreneurs and researchers that includes business start-up plans, video clips, journals, business cases, and more.

Related Periodicals

American Salon (2013-present)
Magazine for beauty salon owners and managers.
Coiffure de Paris (2017-present)
Trade magazine covering the trends in French hairstyling and makeup. Mostly in French, but includes many pictures.
Cosmetics & Toiletries (2003-present)
Brings the most current technologies in formulating, research, regulations & new ingredients.
Cosmetics Business (2020-present)
Publication covering the pharmaceutical and cosmetics industries.
Critical Studies is Fashion & Beauty (2010-present)
Critically examines the fashion and the beauty systems as symbolic spaces of production and reproduction, representation and communication of artifacts, meanings, social practices, and visual or textual renditions of cloth, clothing and appearance.
Ebony (1945-2019)
Provides business, health, fashion, sports, entertainment and general information on African American culture and entertainment.
Esquire (1996-present)
Articles covering a range of topics, including politics, business, sports, the arts, women and children, parents and families.
Essence (1992-present)
Provides lifestyle, fashion and beauty information for African-American women.
Happi: Household & Personal Products Industry (2009-present)
Provides information about soaps, detergents, cosmetics & toiletries, waxes and polishes, insecticides, aerosols and related chemical specialties for professionals in the field.
Seventeen (2003-2018)
A teen magazine covering different aspects of teenage life.
Skin, Inc.
A business management magazine for owners, managers & estheticians at skin care salons & spas. It covers industry news, business practices, innovative treatments, techniques & products.
Soap, Perfumery & Cosmetics
International magazine for the cosmetics, toiletries and fragrance industries.

Online Videos

Barbers (Prelinger Archives)
Barbering
This six-part how-to series covers cutting and styling techniques for men.
Basic Hairstyles
This 7-part series shows step-by-step procedures for many of the most popular hairstyles requested in a salon, as well as lessons on hair washing, curling and conditioning.
Coloring
5-part series covering the chemistry and techniques of coloring hair.
Hair Care Secrets
Explores the science behind hair care to bust the greatest beauty myths. Do you need to change shampoos because your hair builds up a tolerance? How often should you wash your hair? And what’s really involved in a hair transplant?
Hairdressing
This nine-part series demonstrates various cutting and styling techniques for women's hair.
Nailed It
The history behind Vietnamese nail salons and the 20 refugee women who sparked an $8 billion industry that continues to support their community today.
Pretty Toxic
A documentary about the toxic chemicals used by the $500 billion beauty industry.

Cosmetology & Related Programs at VGCC

For program information, contact:

Emily Coburn

Department Chair, Public Services and Program Head, Cosmetology

coburne@vgcc.edu

(252) 738-3620

Library Services

Contact:

Main: (252) 738-3279
South: (252) 738-3510
Franklin: (252) 738-3606
Warren: (252) 738-3686