VGCC Library Services: Carpentry: Home

Library Resources for Carpentry

Print books for carpentry can be found in the following call number ranges. If you need help finding anything, please ask at the library's front desk.

Building Construction: TH 1-TH 5701

Wood Technology: TS 800-TS 939

Woodworking and Turning: TT 180-TT 203

To view book title lists for different subjects, please click one of the links below.

Building and Construction

Masonry

Woodworking

Carpentry : Print Materials

Take Note: The print materials listed here are not an exhaustive list of the library resources related to Carpentry. If looking for other materials, please consult the links above, the library catalog or meet with one of VGCC's librarians.

Carpentry and Construction by Mark Miller; Rex Miller; Mark R. Miller
Call Number: TH 5606 .M52 2010
ISBN: 9780071624718
Publication Date: 2009-11-10
"Carpentry & Construction, Fifth Edition, takes you through every step of house construction in such detail that you can use it to build your own home! Clear instructions, along with more than 1,500 photographs and illustrations, demonstrate each phase of construction--from selecting tools, to pouring the foundation, to finishing the interior."
Joinery Tips and Techniques by Popular Woodworking Editors
Call Number: TT185 .J65 2012
ISBN: 9781440323485
Publication Date: 2012-06-08
"From the lowly butt joint to the vaunted dovetail, joinery makes a woodworking project stronger, attractive and durable. Learn how to make the most common woodworking joints using hand tools and power tools, with tips to speed and improve your work."
The Woodworker's Studio Handbook by Jim Whitman
Call Number: TT 185 .W438 2012
ISBN: 9781592537587
Publication Date: 2012-02-01
"A comprehensive guide to the artistry, design, and skills all woodworkers need to propel their hobby to the next level."
Ultimate Guide to House Framing by John D. Wagner; How-To Associates Staff
Call Number: TH 2301 .W34 2009
ISBN: 9781580114431
Publication Date: 2009-02-01
"Leads homeowners through the steps of building a structure by means of platform framing, the most popular style of framing in use today. Beginning with background information, the book provides the reader with everything they need to know about building, including structural loads and how they interact, sizing lumber, working with tools, and reading blueprints."

Building Codes

2018 North Carolina State Building Code
From the International Code Council (ICC), free online access to the 2018 North Carolina state building codes.

Carpentry Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Business research from journals, trade publications, market research reports, dissertations, and working papers.
Associates Programs Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers key subjects in two-year college settings, including cosmetology, culinary arts, substance abuse counseling, and electrical technology, to name a few. The database includes over 2,000 full-text journals and over 300 full-text ebooks.
eBooks on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Over 26,000 fiction, reference, scholarly, and professional books online. For tutorials and other help on using EBSCO ebooks on different computers and devices, visit the eBooks on EBSCOhost support page.
Ebook Central Academic and Public Library Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly ebook titles supporting student and faculty research, and general nonfiction on topics such as school & studying, career development, arts & leisure, and practical life skills.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Thousands of high quality videos on business & economics, health & medicine, humanities & social sciences, and science & mathematics, as well as travel and fitness programming, home and how-to videos, indie films, and popular music performances. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (Gale Ebooks) This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of online reference titles.
ProQuest Career & Technical Education Database This link opens in a new window
Vocational information on technical topics, such as computing science, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design, and photography.

Related Periodicals

Builder (2012-present)
Magazine for the home-building industry. It's readers include builders, architects, subcontractors, manufacturers, and dealers.
Building Design & Construction (June 1996-present)
Contains articles pertaining to building design & construction.
Construction Innovation (2001-1 year ago)
Covers construction innovations in information, process, technology, management, and IT/Process development and implementation.
Family Handyman (1991-2016)
Includes home improvement ideas, home repair guides and home maintenance tips
Journal of Light Construction (2012-present)
A trade magazine with information for builders and remodelers.
Popular Woodworking (2010-present)
Provides information for woodworkers to expand and improve on their woodworking skills and knowledge.
Roofing Contractor (2001-present)
Covers issues of concern to roofing contractors and provides current industry and product news on all aspects of residential, commercial, industrial, and institutional roofing.
Tech Directions (1995-present)
Articles and commentary on practical application of technical education to the needs of industry.

Carpentry at VGCC

Contact Information

Robinette Fischer

Department Chair, Applied Technologies

fisherr@vgcc.edu

(252) 738-3255

VGCC Library Services

Library Services

Contact:

Main: (252) 738-3279
South: (252) 738-3510
Franklin: (252) 738-3606
Warren: (252) 738-3686